PDA

View Full Version : Colour Management in LightWave

John Geelan
01-18-2009, 02:55 AM
I am coming from a successful colour management workflow in Photoshop for the purposes of print graphics.
I am new to CG and LightWave but want to implement a similar colour management workflow in LightWave for the purpose of print graphics.
I understand there are problems involved in doing so and that there are solutions being offered, for example by Gerado, for a linear workflow based on Sebastian Goetsch's SG-CCTools.
To understand the solution, I must first understand the problem.
Can anybody outline ALL of the problems involved in the implementation of a colour management workflow in LightWave with a view to print graphics?

akademus
01-18-2009, 11:54 AM
I guess the first and the biggest issue is LW's inability to work in CMYK colour space due to it's nature as animation and FX package.

Captain Obvious
01-18-2009, 12:52 PM
Well, the ONLY problem I can think of is that Lightwave, like all CG packages, work in linear RGB color space. Just maintain a linear workflow, though, and everything will be peachy. There's no CMYK, obviously, so you'll have to do that conversion in Photoshop.

toby
01-18-2009, 02:23 PM
the print graphics section is likely to have more info -
http://www.newtek.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=173

Captain Obvious
01-18-2009, 02:56 PM
the print graphics section is likely to have more info -
http://www.newtek.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=173
Except nobody ever bloody posts there!

Matt
01-18-2009, 03:10 PM
Some of this information might help:

http://www.lightwiki.com/SG_CCTools_-_For_Color_Management_and_Linear_Workflows

John Geelan
01-19-2009, 07:32 PM
As I understand it, problems exist for a linear workflow well before any CMYK vs RGB printing considerations.