PDA

View Full Version : Rural Landscaping with LightWave

John Geelan
01-14-2009, 07:29 AM
I am completely new to LightWave and 3D graphics. I purchased LightWave the week before Christmas and am now one quarter way into Dan Ablan's book, "Inside LightWave" - that's how new!
My interest during the last twenty years has been rural landscape photography. With LightWave, I hope to produce photorealistic prints based, wholly or in part, on my photography. I envisage modelling rural architecture, farming tools and traditional features of the rural landscape which can be reused when needed. I don't have a need for animation.
As I know what it is I want to do, I'm looking for any advice as to how I might go about it ie, a general overview of the most relevant LightWave tools, external plugins, other software etc. LightWave is a pretty deep program and I have yet to come across anybody who uses it to specialize in terrain modelling or rural landscaping. It seems to me that VUE satifies most artists needs in this regard. My limited experience of VUE suggests it is not suitable for an accurate reproduction of the flora and fauna of my local landscapes.
Whether I am being overly ambitious or not, I don't know - yet, every time I fire up LightWave, I have the distinct impression that everything is possible.

bluerider
01-14-2009, 09:40 AM
Hello John,
Have you got any examples of you photography to show. Make a thread in the Sketch of the day section and post some in there. Would love to see them.

monovich
01-14-2009, 10:04 AM
would love to see some examples also. I've got a few thoughts on the subject, but I'm not sure what your end-game is.

bluerider
01-14-2009, 10:30 AM
would love to see some examples also. I've got a few thoughts on the subject, but I'm not sure what your end-game is.

monovich, You make awesome art with LightWave, can't wait to read your thoughts on this subject.

Exception
01-14-2009, 08:55 PM