PDA

View Full Version : Tweaking shadowcatchers



vncnt
01-11-2009, 03:19 AM
When using an object as a shadowcatcher it needs to be transparent to the camera and show the shadow on top of the background image sequence.

The quickest way to preview shadows without the use of separate shadow channels is to use the alpha channel for transparency and apply shadow in post.
This is fine for final production but annoying and timeconsuming when tweaking.

IMO projecting realistic shadows on the background footage shouldn't depend on a time- and harddisk consuming post process.

Would be nice to add such a shadowcatcher option to the Render tab in Object Properties.
Or maybe a Shadowcatcher Image Filter, including some MASTER-shadow settings for contrast, gamma, brightness and blur.

vncnt
02-20-2012, 01:17 PM
NewTek HAS been listening!!!
Thank you!

Dodgy
02-20-2012, 05:31 PM
Yeah, I use this alll the time now. Saves having to set up different objects for each scene.