PDA

View Full Version : rigging issue



aloysius1001
01-06-2009, 11:27 AM
I'm having a problem where I am getting two of my rotational controls being co-planar, so I'm losing one dimension of adjustment. I cannot figure out how to correct the issue. I've tried resetting the bones and that is no help. I guess this is a gimble lock issue.

adamredwoods
01-06-2009, 04:27 PM
You may need to add an extra bone before your "problem bone" in the chain.
This bone should be without rotation, and be made quite short as to not interfere with the displacement.

geothefaust
01-06-2009, 04:40 PM
Adam is right,

Add a bone for each rotational axis and use them each separately for animation. So one bone for Heading, one for Pitch and one for Bank. I also lock out the other axes that I don't use as to avoid accidentally using them.

EDIT: Make sure you parent them correctly.