PDA

View Full Version : Bootcamp users - control fan speed in windows?



JeffrySG
01-05-2009, 09:35 AM
Hey all,

In OSX I use smcFanControl to control the fan speeds and keep the machine a little cooler while doing 3d work.

What do you use to do the same thing in windows XP 32bit? I tried using 'speedfan' but it doesn't seem to be able to control the fan speeds - unless I'm doing something wrong.

I think my vid card is overheading in win and I'm trying to cool it down a bit.

Cheers!

JeffrySG
01-06-2009, 10:55 AM
Thx nerverko, it's actually an ATI card so I'm assuming it won't work.

I did find out that my card the ATI-X1900 has terrible dust problems. My card was completely loaded too. I took it out and cleaned it all up.

This site discusses it and shows the problem if anyone else here has the X1900 in their MacPro they might want to look to see if it needs cleaning.

http://macsaregreat.com/?p=63

this one too
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/Graphics/radeon_X1900XT/X1900XT_dust_buildup.html#storytop

JeffrySG
01-06-2009, 11:31 AM
oh, thanks... I'll download Rivatuner incase I still need to adjust fan speeds.

Well, this is on my mac so I did not get any type of ATI window based tools. I could look to see if they have some on their website, though. :)

Deep Image
01-09-2009, 06:37 AM
Thx nerverko, it's actually an ATI card so I'm assuming it won't work.

I did find out that my card the ATI-X1900 has terrible dust problems. My card was completely loaded too. I took it out and cleaned it all up.

This site discusses it and shows the problem if anyone else here has the X1900 in their MacPro they might want to look to see if it needs cleaning.


Tanks Jeffry this was very use full indeed. Yes mine was loaded to same card. And was also making lost off noise and head when running under boot-camp:bowdown::bowdown::bowdown:

JeffrySG
01-09-2009, 07:00 AM
Tanks Jeffry this was very use full indeed. Yes mine was loaded to same card. And was also making lost off noise and head when running under boot-camp:bowdown::bowdown::bowdown:

No Problem!

It was someone on the Apple forums that actually told me about the dust problem and then I found those two sites.

Just so you know, there has definitely been a problem with those ATI cards overheating under Leopard. And I didn't start to have problems until I upgraded to Leopard as well. I'm sure all of that dust doesn't help either though!

But smcFanControl (http://homepage.mac.com/holtmann/eidac/software/page5/page5.html) has really helped me keep the card a little cooler under OSX.