PDA

View Full Version : I'm trying to animate an elephant's trunk

artsy7
01-04-2009, 06:33 PM
I've created bones and weight maps. I've tried using IK Booster but I'm not quite sure what I am doing wrong. I tried setting the end bone in the end of the trunk with just a limit on the pitch and it is better but not working right yet? Any suggestions?

I saw the video on the 24 hours free training on introduction to bone dynamics and the octopus has the kind of movement I want as far as the tentacle curling? I could sure use any pointers on how to get that kind of movement for my trunk.
Thanks!

adamredwoods
01-05-2009, 03:56 PM
Lock your heading channels.

Also, a quick screenshot would be good to see what is messing up.

artsy7
01-05-2009, 09:02 PM
I'm still learning to use these forums. So, I did not even know how to put a picture up here. The heading lock didn't work though, and just locking the pitch you can see what is happening....any ideas? Thanks for the help.

Dexter2999
01-05-2009, 09:41 PM
For a trunk I wouldn't lock any headings.
There is a bone right below the eyes. Did you click IK STOP on it? If you want a few curls in the trunk, make the bones smaller so you get more control and put in more IK STOP points.

Good Luck

adamredwoods
01-05-2009, 10:08 PM
looks like the bank is spinning on one of the bones in the trunk. My guess is don't lock heading, but try locking bank!

artsy7
01-06-2009, 03:11 PM
Thanks so much, I'll give it a try and let you know.... I did not put an IK stop on the bone between the eye - and I did not put IK stops on any of bones in the trunk
Thanks much....I'm still learning and desperately trying to get this to work.....

precedia
01-07-2009, 11:22 AM
I'm not a rigging expert, but attached is a scene and object file that may help you.

The object file contains a fake elephant and trunk along with skelegons.

The scene file has the model loaded and skelegons converted to bones.