PDA

View Full Version : As I missing something here? (starting LScript)

Verminity
08-10-2003, 12:13 PM
Hi,

I'm a resonably experienced programmer in a variety of languages, but I'm trying to get started on LScript and I'm finding it very hard going.

I've been reading through the Inside Lightwave 6 chapter on Lscripting and I have some questions.

Firstly I'm using lightwave 6.5b and I can't seem to find the IDE anywhere. Is there a download for it because I can't find it on the CD, the upgrade or the Newtek website.

And secondly I've downloaded the user guide and the reference in pdf format off the website and they don't seem to cover very many functions - for example one function which I know exists, getfirstitem(), doesn't seem to be mentioned in either file -- is there some proper documentation that I'm missing.

The only other file I have is a readme with some small notes in it. This was inside the on-line help folder in the Lightwave install -- the book says that there should be full instructions in HTML.

Thanks for any help, I hope I'm being really stupid here because I can't even get started, yet alone actually code anything.

Martin

fxnut
08-14-2003, 07:30 PM
Martin,

Yep, you're not the only one who's confused here! I'm in the same boat as you are. I'm fairly familiar with the SDK and would regard myself as an experienced programmer, and I've also just started looking at Lscript.

Incidentally, I've just replied to someone in another thread who seems to be able to do all sorts of stuff in LScript that I can't - and vice versa interestingly! (see the thread here (http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9336) )