PDA

View Full Version : Speed Edit Math Dilemma with FPS (frames per second)

Kurt_Henning
12-13-2008, 07:44 AM
I seem to be in a dilemma. A sync dilemma.

I have some footage which appears to be 30 fps, and most of the footage is DV at 29.97.

After I sync the feeds, they slip inside the first minute. I imagine changing the speed would address this, but I also would guess that there is an equation to do this correctly.

I have a master capture (this is a guitar trick instructional video). We used a TCP v2 :tcicon:to switch between 3 cameras (wide shot of talent and two other angles into the TCP.) There were 3 other cameras also. These were ISOed and recorded to tape, but we also use two laptops and captured to disk using SpeedEDit 1.55 and the SHQ saver, I believe, but perhaps the MS DV.avi. The Mac was our third "recorder." That is not currently in the mix, for a couple of reasons. First, the capture was 640 X 480. SpeedEDIT could care less. When I added that file, it stretched it, or loaded it properly, and it looks just fine with the other feeds.

For now, I am only dealing with the NEwtek captures.

Here is what I have

1. TC captures that are .MPG
2. SE captures that are .avi

This is a musical piece with dialog so it's pretty easy to mark the clips and line them up for syncing purposes.

Part 2 of the project was shot in November 2008. We shot the first part in July 2008.

Most of the July footage is synced and we did not encounter any of these problems. On the July shoot, I did have to record to tape and digitize two of the feeds, but otherwise we are getting as much as possible direct to disk.