PDA

View Full Version : New to Lightwave

wfstecko
12-12-2008, 12:48 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Lightwave. Actually, I'm new to anything even remotely artistic in nature. I've wanted to explore my "creative side" to see if I actually have one for a long time, but I got sidetracked by building a career in network administration. I've reached the stage where I'd like to do more with computers than just troubleshoot and fix them, so it's time for a new hobby. If it turns into something more, great!

So I recently purchased Lightwave 9.5 and am running it on Windows Vista. It's taking a while, but I'm beginning to feel comfortable in it. The interface is very different from anything I've used in recent memory.

Last week I bought a Mac Pro, dual quad core processors, 4 Gb RAM, running OSX. I'm new to Mac's as well. Before this I never did much more with them than connect them to network shares.

I'm considering moving my Lightwave software from my Vista machine to the new Mac. I'm wondering if I should be aware of any re-registration issues, and also wondering if there is any difference in the functionality of Lightwave between the Windows and Mac versions.

Any advice is appreciated,

Walter

cagey5
12-12-2008, 01:40 PM
I think one of the biggest differences is the number of third party plug-ins for the Mac. I believe there are far fewer than on the PC so it would be worth drawing up[ a list of those you currently use or feel you will need in the future and check their availability on the Mac in order to make a better informed decision as to whether to switch or not.

akrantz
12-12-2008, 01:46 PM