PDA

View Full Version : Need a better Way



monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 09:40 AM
Can anyone suggest abetter way to model this brake disc?As it is currently it does not render properly,even unwelded.only 3\4 quarters shows up in the render.

monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 10:09 AM
Another Veiw

biliousfrog
11-27-2008, 10:35 AM
My only suggestion is to make a smaller section of it which will be easier to make into quads and radial clone it into the full disc.

How close do you need to be to it? Will a clip map work? For a full car shot at A4, 300dpi, it will only be around 1" (300 pixels) and it will be behind a wheel in slight shade. If it's for an animation it will be even smaller (unless it's for a film).

monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 11:12 AM
I thought about a clip map but i may need the thickness.It's going on this at the front replacing the one thats there.

Hopper
11-27-2008, 11:14 AM
I thought about a clip map but i may need the thickness.It's going on this at the front replacing the one thats there.
Gorgeous model. Well done.

biliousfrog
11-27-2008, 11:31 AM
yeah it's a bit more exposed than a car's disc isn't it :D

zapper1998
11-27-2008, 12:58 PM
like this

66494

michael

Dexter2999
11-27-2008, 01:38 PM
Could you post a render? I'd like to see what you mean by only 3/4 shows up.
Also could you select all polys and post a screen shot with Statistics showing?
Are your normals all correct?
Do you have duplicate polys overlapping somewhere?
What version of LW are you using?

might be eaiser if you just post the object. I could look up all that stuff myself.

monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 02:58 PM
here is a render.It'll show up if i triple the faces,but i don't want that high poly count.

daforum
11-27-2008, 05:07 PM
Maybe you need to merge any stray points and align the polys if 3/4 is showing?

The bike model looks great by the way.

monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 05:45 PM
Well,i did this and it works.Not exactly what i wanted to do but it renders correctly.

Dexter2999
11-27-2008, 06:18 PM
Try using the knife tool to cut the original one into quarters. Those two polys that have all the holes cut in them have a crazy point count and even though they aren't showing up as non-planar they are certainly not rendering right.

Somthing to think about.

Dexter2999
11-27-2008, 06:25 PM
I did a quick count/estimation and each of those faces, has about 1200 points per face. If you cut them in half even 600 is going to be easier for the software to work with. Quad would be 300 per poly face.

When you triple the face you basicaly took dividing the single poly face to the extreme. Because it made many many three point polys from each face.

adk
11-27-2008, 08:47 PM
How about this ? ... only 40 polys :) don't ask me to post wires tho :D

adk
11-27-2008, 09:36 PM
you were right on the money with the clipmap monfoodoo :)

I came up against this when I had to model a large sculpture out of sheet metal with a bucket load of detail in it and a crazy deadline ... it's just a single poly (with a UV clip map) then cloned 40 times. Not an ideal setup if you're looking closely but it worked fine for me & has the advantage of ultra quick changes without any painful re-modeling work.

Even stands up in animation :D

Matt
11-27-2008, 09:49 PM
Have you tried bevelling a small offset on the disc? That might help, and knifing it as Dexter2999 suggested.

monfoodoo
11-27-2008, 10:16 PM
I believe i found my problem.On this one i just finish i'm not using a single round poly and cutting holes.i shifted inward a disc and it works great.Thanks for all the replies.

MooseDog
11-28-2008, 06:49 AM
just something to keep in mind if you're using the perspective camera, it is a lot! more sensitive to non-planar polys than the classic cam. i'm guessing that was part of your initial prob here. congrats on the fix!

monfoodoo
11-28-2008, 10:16 AM
Actually,i,m still on 8.5.As soon as i can get the F Prime update i,ll be going to the 9.I,m just alittle behind everybody else.