PDA

View Full Version : LW9.2 Bone problem



kasigawa
11-26-2008, 03:01 PM
I rigged my character and turned all the bones on, but for some reason the bones wont affect the model.

What the heck is going on?:lwicon:

Dexter2999
11-26-2008, 03:13 PM
Check your scene editor. Are the bones parented to the object?

kasigawa
11-26-2008, 04:07 PM
It doesn't want to work. I'm going to try and restart my computer.

jasonwestmas
11-26-2008, 04:21 PM
Are the bones rested? select all bones, press "r"

Weetos
11-26-2008, 04:21 PM
you may also want to check your bones strength, and that you use the right weight maps for controlling their influence, if any

Last but not least, check they're active (they should not appear as dotted lines, which would mean they're not activated)

Sorry for stating the obvious, I guess you already checked all these many times - just trying to help :)

kasigawa
11-26-2008, 04:48 PM
I've made sure all of them are active, parented to the model, strength set to %100, but still nothing.

Either it's one hell of a bug or it's something i did, or didn't do. From my perspective it should be working.

Weetos
11-26-2008, 04:56 PM
Did you create your bones in Layout or in Modeler ? In case you did the latter, make sure your skelegons lay in the same layer as your object before converting them to bone

Can't think of anything else - or maybe it's as you suggested, one hell of a bug :/ Then I think you could try if you still have this issue with 9.3.1 or 9.5 (or even better, the latest beta)

jasonwestmas
11-26-2008, 05:02 PM
Why aren't cha using 9.3.1? You can always export back to 9.2 if need be.

kasigawa
11-26-2008, 05:04 PM
i don't have a enough money to fit it in my budget to upgrade to lightwave 9.5.

jasonwestmas
11-26-2008, 05:09 PM
I don't understand. . .If you own a 9.0+ license you get all the updates up to 9.5 free. I did.

kasigawa
11-26-2008, 05:09 PM
Tell me how do you parent the bones to the object. It might be set to a the object behind my character

jasonwestmas
11-26-2008, 05:13 PM
The easy way is to go to the "Schematic" view; click on the bone node you want to be the child, hold control button and then click on the node you want to parent to.

kasigawa
11-26-2008, 05:37 PM
It won't let me, so i'm going to have to re-do the bones in modeler.

jasonwestmas
11-26-2008, 05:51 PM
It should let you change the parenting order just fine if "parent in place" is active. If not, then LW isn't working right.