PDA

View Full Version : bad ActiveX thingies on the NT LW main page still?



IMI
11-22-2008, 04:24 PM
Just went to check out the main LightWave 3D page: HERE (http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/), and see that I'm getting the warnings from McAfee like we all were getting from the forum pages last week.
Checked it out from a different PC with AVG on it, and got a similar, though more general warning. See attached screenies. Those are with Firefox. I get similar messages when accessing that URL with IE.

I'm guessing this might not be so good for business...

geothefaust
11-22-2008, 04:30 PM
Uh oh.... I dare not visit the page.

IMI
11-22-2008, 04:53 PM
Yeah, I suppose I shouldn't have included a clickable link. ;)

IMI
11-22-2008, 08:14 PM
OK, I guess somebody did something about it because I'm not getting those messages anymore.

IMI
11-23-2008, 05:44 AM
Not in your wildest dreams. Takes more than some amateur l33t LameX script to take ME down. ;)

Nope, gave them both the full scan-o-rama overnight.

fyrissian
12-26-2008, 01:34 PM
Just found this thread. I started getting the same message yesterday. This time it seems to be related to something called "rediff toolbar".

zapper1998
12-26-2008, 06:33 PM
O M G

Where is Spock when U need him..

bobakabob
12-27-2008, 09:06 AM
Any more info on this and the damage it could do? How can something like this get onto Newtek's server? IE seems to block it automatically but not a peep out of Kaspersky...

m.simpson
12-27-2008, 08:46 PM
At first I said ok install the activex control believing it would be safe as it's on the NEWTEK site but luckily Norton's picked it up.

Here's the info from Norton's http://www.symantec.com/business/security_response/attacksignatures/detail.jsp?asid=22575

I think it's another reason to use firefox over ie.

Infinite
12-28-2008, 10:13 AM
Is anybody looking into this bug or hack as I still get it when I load Newteks main page?

MooseDog
12-28-2008, 10:12 PM
does anybody out there still use i.e. ? aka the active-x exploiter's best friend...

Infinite
12-29-2008, 04:12 AM
does anybody out there still use i.e. ? aka the active-x exploiter's best friend...

I would imagine perhaps 1 or 2 people :ohmy:

bobakabob
12-29-2008, 09:02 AM
does anybody out there still use i.e. ? aka the active-x exploiter's best friend...

Only a mere 70% approx of web surfers depending on what stats you read. I'm one of them... alternating with Firefox. Spinquad and Yahoo take forever to load in IE for some reason.

Don't be so quick to knock knock IE... it actually stops the bug from downloading. Firefox hasn't posted any warnings...

Medi8or
12-29-2008, 06:19 PM
Firefox hasn't posted any warnings...
It happily ignores vbscript, so there is no threat to warn you about... ;)