PDA

View Full Version : Convert .lwo to .dwg

BlueApple
11-14-2008, 08:45 PM
I have a feeling that this request is similar to asking if I can take a chocolate cake and convert it to eggs, milk, flour, etc., but is there a way to take a LightWave object that I've modeled and kick out a .dwg?

I have no experience with any cad applications, but would be willing to purchase if necessary. I have a model and would like to have someone fabricate it out of plywood sheets, but don't want to pay the few thousands of dollars that he charges to generate the .dwg file.

Any assistance is appreciated.

JeffrySG
11-14-2008, 10:19 PM
You might want to see if he will accept any other formats. He might be willing to take .dxf files. I'm not sure if LWCAD will export .dwg files or if PolyTrans will? If so maybe someone here can convert them for you?

Whatever you do, just make sure they run a small test for you to double check that the files are outputting the way you want and with the quality you want. I'm assuming that he'll be running them on a CNC machine. One of the guys I've used used to just like high res JPG files... weird but they worked.

Nicolas Jordan
11-14-2008, 10:45 PM
I think .dxf is probably your only shot at it as already mentioned. It's just an older AutoCAD file format from what I understand. AccuTrans can convert .lwo to .dxf http://www.micromouse.ca/

The only way I know of to get a .lwo into a .dwg is to convert the .lwo to .dxf and then load the .dxf into AutoCAD and save it out as a .dwg.

archijam
11-15-2008, 02:33 AM
ANY cad app can open dxf (drawing exchange format) files, which are a 'watered down' interchange format of DWG (which is owned by autodesk and now comes in incompatible 14, 2000, 2004 and 2008 flavours). Therefore, try to get a good DXF out of your LWO, then worry about the DWG conversion, which is a simple load and save.

DXF files tend to only like tri's for 3d surfaces, but are a solid, clean format.