PDA

View Full Version : Make an Elevate Tool



erikals
11-14-2008, 04:33 AM
the Elevate Tool will be just like the current Move Tool - Falloff/ Point Radial.
a radius, just like on the Drag Tool, should be displayed.

but instead of twisting the object like this to elevate the geometry,...
http://erikalstad.com/cgtemp/MoveTool-show-pointradial-radius.zip

...it should be possible to do this in the perspective view by simply holding down, and dragging the mouse pointer.
let me show you, I did this in another viewport, which is a quite clumsy way of going about it.
http://erikalstad.com/cgtemp/MoveTool-elevate-in-the-normal.zip

this would work somewhat simillar to the artisan-morph-LW-trick,
but one shouldn't have to use that trick to do something as simple as this imo.

Weetos
11-14-2008, 05:16 AM
I'm sorry the vidz you posted won't play on my system (using WMP and VLC)

Do you mean a tool a would work like 'Point Normal Move' but with an editable fall-off ? (I always wondered why this tool didn't have a falloff setting)

Sorry if this is totally unrelated

artstorm
11-14-2008, 05:18 AM
Do you mean a tool a would work like 'Point Normal Move' but with an editable fall-off ? (I always wondered why this tool didn't have a falloff setting)

Have wished for that as well.
The videos played fine here though. And you can get somewhat close to the vidoes / pnt nrml w falloff by using the Translate Plus tool with Scale to Point and then enabling falloff.

flashover
11-19-2008, 03:46 AM
Great idea!!! Great tools:agree:

flashover
11-19-2008, 04:11 AM
Have wished for that as well.
The videos played fine here though. And you can get somewhat close to the vidoes / pnt nrml w falloff by using the Translate Plus tool with Scale to Point and then enabling falloff.

Translate Plus not is the solution, not is flexible.
The idea is a tools Like EDIT STRANDS tools for fiber in layout the same thing in modeler on polygons and points !!!

Red_Oddity
11-20-2008, 04:18 AM
So basically you want Maya's Sculpt Geometry tool, i have wished for an artisan like toolset that is tied into the SDK so other tool writers can have easy acces to a working paint system for a while now.

erikals
11-20-2008, 04:32 AM
shouldn't be hard at all, I mean, I just did it... \:)

bit more info, something i wrote some time back,..
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showpost.php?p=310331&postcount=5