PDA

View Full Version : WARNING!!! NewTek Web Site Infected by a Trojan



umbcel
11-12-2008, 11:35 PM
I suppose that NewTek web site section of LW 3D has been cracked and now it dispenses a trojan to all web visitors.
Please been more careful, not try to visit it without a good real time antivirus protection.
The McAfee Viruscan Enterprise 8.5 detect it as "Exploit-MS06-014".
It is shameful.
I hope that NewTek spend more attention in the future regard the security of their web site.
Bye

Umberto

Weetos
11-13-2008, 12:08 AM
Do you mean it's still active? I thought that was ok now the forum is back :confused:

StereoMike
11-13-2008, 03:53 AM
I don't get wanrings any longer, I think they fixed it.

hrgiger
11-13-2008, 04:04 AM
And if you look, there are already several threads that had been started on it.

umbcel
11-13-2008, 09:24 AM
I continue to receive virus warning when i open www.lightwave3d.com
:(

cagey5
11-13-2008, 09:36 AM
Nothing here. Are you sure you don't have something in your cache that may be causing it?

IMI
11-13-2008, 09:49 AM
All clear here too. McAfee and AVG not giving any warnings anymore.

JamesCurtis
11-13-2008, 09:57 AM
Yes, definately clear your cache files, history, etc. I haven't had an issue since doing this!

beverins
11-13-2008, 10:49 AM
Newtek fixed the problem, they're patched. You need to clear your cache files if you continue to see the problem

Silkrooster
11-13-2008, 10:36 PM
Looks like they finally fixed the quote and reply buttons. Seams they added a few features as well. Now to get the header and icons finished.
Silk

bobakabob
11-14-2008, 10:05 AM
But what happened to the gallery thumbnails? Please fix them Newtek!
Also the Smilies have been decimated :help:

starbase1
11-14-2008, 12:01 PM
Has anyone seen a message of how it happened? Or an apology? Or what they are doing to prevent it happening again?

I see the other thread discussing this has been locked down, if they lock this one it will just get discussed on other forums, (as is already happening).

geothefaust
11-14-2008, 12:04 PM
Yeah I wonder what the deal is. I've never had a problem like that, ever. Especially from a reputable site, let alone a 3D one.

JBT27
11-14-2008, 12:16 PM
First my Norton Antivirus 2007 reported problems on the Forums site, and blocked it, but the NT site was OK - hours later that situation got reversed.....that was yesterday morning (UK time). All OK now though on that front.

Though the Forum site has changed and menus are different and images display differently. Never seen Norton's panic like that before.

Julian.