PDA

View Full Version : Inexpensive graphics tablet?

SilverDragon
08-06-2003, 02:06 PM
Hi folks! I'm new to LightWave and to computer graphics in general, tho I'm an old-timer in other computer applications. My budget is limited at present, as I've blown most of it acquiring LightWave...

I note that many people use a graphics tablet with LightWave. Is it worth the expense? Will a low-end tablet like the Graphire give me most of the benefits, or do I really have to spend the bucks for an Intuos if I'm going to bother? Is there any other manufacturer besides Wacom to consider?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Pensart
08-06-2003, 02:55 PM
go for the wacom intuos!!
Very serious.
I tried a graphire and an other board from trust, never again.
ofcourse this is my personal opinion.

paintboy
08-06-2003, 03:24 PM
i love my intous(12x12)....but not for LW. i am sure you will get many opinions here, after all, its really about what you get used to. i have several friends
that use the 6x9 intous and love them(still about $200)
the graphire really doesnt cut it next to the intous, just not the same for drawing/painting, less levels of pressure sensitivity(not important for LW anyway)
there used to be other manufacturers(calcomp) but they sunk, i think.
for LW, i think i would rather sink my "limited bucks" on a multi button mouse
or track ball(which is what i prefer for LW)Kensington makes some nice ones
and i have not had troubles with them. people always whine about track balls
and they do take a day or to to get used to, but once you get the hang of it their
pretty cool. Good luck!

Beamtracer
08-06-2003, 03:42 PM
The smaller Graphire tablets are very cheap. If you have a really large screen or twin CRT monitors you may find it's hard to get fine control.

You can do it with a small Graphire, but you might need to switch to the mouse every now and then when fine tweaking a model.