PDA

View Full Version : Theory question

daug
02-24-2003, 10:34 AM
Hi all,

I can program in Perl and Javascript, so I figured I'd give Lscript a try to solve some in-house issues. So here is what I'm trying to do........

The CAD software we use builds 3d house models with parametric roofs, windows, etc.. When I export the model into Lightwave, the resulting mesh is not always continuous (see image.....

D:\Temp\wall-polys.gif

Now, what I would like to do search for instances of non-attached polys like the image shows and add points to polys so I have a continuous mesh.

What I have thought of doing is checking every poly to see if there are any points that are in line with any of the poly's edges. If it finds one or more, it will add the point(s) to the poly.

I am an extreme noob with Lscript, and this doesn't seem like a very efficient way to do this. Any ideas? Anybody have an alternate route to what I am trying accomplish? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks :)

daug
02-24-2003, 10:42 AM
Trying again............

daug
02-25-2003, 03:35 PM
Anyone?

Tom Winnicki
02-25-2003, 05:41 PM
Does the image you posted represent what the part looks like in LW Modeler? How does it look like in the CAD software? Does it always do that to polygons with holes in them?

daug
02-25-2003, 06:25 PM
Hi Tom,

The software we use works inside of Autocad. It builds polyface-meshes that always do what I showed in the image. It doesn't cause problems except for screwed up normals, so I always have to do double-sided textures. I only showed a space between the polys for illustrative purposes.

There is no actual space between the polys. The outside polys I showed only have 4 points, when I want them to have 6 points. Does this make sense? If not, I will post another image. Thanks.

Mike Pauza
02-25-2003, 09:14 PM