PDA

View Full Version : I need head help....lol



Jean-Paul Lar.
08-06-2003, 01:11 PM
Hello everyone i was wondering if anyone new what i could do to fix this?Im fairly new to character modeling and wanted to try without a tutorial and i think its not to bad of a model other then this one point?
any help would be awsome...thanks:cool:

Jean-Paul Lar.
08-06-2003, 01:13 PM
ok i fixed the image size...

Jean-Paul Lar.
08-06-2003, 01:19 PM
this is a better size i hope....

WCameron
08-06-2003, 02:41 PM
this is kind of dificult to explain precisely, but the gist of it is you have too many edges connected to the vertices in that area.
what you need to alter is the lines that come out from that center point under the nose and connect to those vertices
have to be redone. I would suggest cutting them both out,
using BANDSAW on the strip remaining (which would make a center dividing line across and down around the chin) then rebuild the polys you cut out by hand.

does that make sense?

- Will.

Jean-Paul Lar.
08-06-2003, 03:53 PM
I think i get what your saying ill try that and post back later thanks WCameron...Do you usually run into this kind of thing box modeling with subd's or am i approching the modelling wrong?I mean i guess theres no right way just more efficiant ways?

Jean-Paul Lar.
08-06-2003, 04:58 PM
Awsome thanks allot,everything worked out it was a little screwy at first but its all good...thx again WCameron...:cool:

WCameron
08-06-2003, 08:08 PM
no problem.

- Will.

Skonk
08-07-2003, 03:57 AM
Just on a side note, much of the time when u have these little problems in your subd mesh, unless there really out of whack then they wont actually show up when u render. An easy way to test it is to make sure the surface has smoothing turned on and then freeze the object (in smooth shaded or textured view mode), if u can still see the glitch then it needs fixing but most of the time it will go, then just undo the freeze and keep modeling :)

When u render subd objects lightwave internally freezes them anyway, so freezing your object and then undoing it is a good way to see exactly how it will look when u render.

James..

SplineGod
08-07-2003, 07:41 PM
Hey Jean,
You more or less have the right idea with the edge loops.
You need a bit more geometry which you can create using bandsaw. I would use spin quads to redirect the flow around the nose area.
I have some quicktime movies online that show the basics of getting a head started and controlling flow HERE (http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/support/sampler.htm)
Both of the next examples started out as a single polygon with the proportions cut into it and the model worked out from there.
You need to work on getting your proportions laid out very early and then build on that. Additional details will be added into the proper edge loops. Heres an example of simple edge loops without the convergence in certain spots that youre getting.
http://www.splinegod.com/examples/edgeloops.jpg

Heres the flow with a more complex mesh.
http://www.splinegod.com/examples/gollum_wireframe.jpg
I also have a quickitime showing how to spline model.
Heres an example of the nice form and flow you can get by using splines to trace a background image.

Hhttp://www.splinegod.com/examples/ogre.jpg