PDA

View Full Version : Picking every other point



THREEL
11-08-2008, 03:11 PM
Hi everyone!

I was wondering if there was a command in :lwicon: ver. 8.5 that allows you to pick every other point. Sort of like select loop, but for every other point. If not, is there a Lscript that would accomplish that? I have some discs that I want to do some straight knurling on, and I figured this would be the best way to accomplish this task. Also, could this be faked with a displacement map?

Since I'm asking about selecting things, is there a way to automatically select half of an object's polygons based on the side of an axis? I have an imported object that has many small tris. So, it's very hard to pick those close to the axis. I need to have just half of the object, so I can see the inside.

tHANX in advance!

tHREEL, but you can call me AL.

JeffrySG
11-08-2008, 04:31 PM
Does v8.5 have the 'Select nth' option in the selection menu? This lets you do things like that.

65731

THREEL
11-08-2008, 06:03 PM
Does v8.5 have the 'Select nth' option in the selection menu? This lets you do things like that.

65731

I can't seem to find it, but I'll keep looking.

tHANX, Jeff!

JeffrySG
11-09-2008, 10:23 PM
Al, that might be a v9 feature... I'm not sure...

THREEL
11-10-2008, 02:41 AM
Al, that might be a v9 feature... I'm not sure...

Probably...:rolleyes:

tHANX anyway!

safetyman
11-10-2008, 06:08 AM
I believe pictrix has a plugin that will do what you want, and it should work with 8.5...
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/index1.html

thekho
11-10-2008, 02:07 PM
Does v8.5 have the 'Select nth' option in the selection menu?
65731

Yeah its! you can find the Edit Menu Layout, then go Modeler Tools where you can find Select Nth!

Hope it help!

Cheers!

THREEL
11-10-2008, 03:41 PM
Yeah its! you can find the Edit Menu Layout, then go Modeler Tools where you can find Select Nth!

Hope it help!

Cheers!


tHANX, but I looked there and still can't find it. I even did a search, and the response was Command string not found.

AL

thekho
11-10-2008, 04:20 PM
Strange cos i'm using LW 8.5 also have Select Nth! Ok, you have to load modelertools.p again from Lightwave 8.5 plugins! Then u will find it!

Or http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9044 which have video tutorial about Select Nth!

BeeVee
11-10-2008, 05:32 PM
If you are missing menu options, etc. in LightWave 8.x then LightWiki (http://www.lightwiki.com/Something_is_screwy_with_my_LightWave) has the answer.

B

THREEL
11-10-2008, 08:30 PM
Strange cos i'm using LW 8.5 also have Select Nth! Ok, you have to load modelertools.p again from Lightwave 8.5 plugins! Then u will find it!

Or http://www.spinquad.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9044 which have video tutorial about Select Nth!


I think I found my problem. I was looking under the View tab, where other Selection Options are, when I should have been looking under Utilities>Plug-ins>Additional. At least that's where I found the Select Nth command.

Now, all I have to do is figure out how to use it.

tHANX!

AL