PDA

View Full Version : GnomonOnline vs Animation Mentor

akademus
11-04-2008, 03:34 AM
Hey everyone.

I'm in a sort of dilemma these days. After I graduated in Multimedia Design I felt kinda a bored without academic challenges. Instead of pursuing Masters I'm thinking about affiliating with some online education in 3D.

After looking at some online schools for 3D my choice got down to Gnomononline and AnimationMentor. On one side Gnomon gives more all round education while AM is strictly character animation. Money is not a big issue here so I'm not taking that into account.

I would greatly appreciate any opinions on this case and if someone could share their experiences with these (or some other) 3d Schools.

P.S. I'd love to go to Dave, but I simply can't hit US now.

Cheers

cresshead
11-04-2008, 10:16 AM
i know that A.M is pretty hard work so you'll really need to be extreemly dedicated and have enogh freetime to create the assignments on time...there's not many options to catchup if you start to fall behind..so be warned...i have a student do this in 2006 and she managed to pass but hasn't gone on to do any 3d much of late it sorta burned her out for the moment.

Dexter2999
11-04-2008, 10:42 AM
http://theanimatorssurvivalkit.com/index.html

It is worth looking into.

Stooch
11-04-2008, 12:42 PM
all of the badass animators i worked with got or are getting their chops at AM.

I am against college education for 3D art, but i would shell out for AM if i had the time.

akademus
11-04-2008, 12:59 PM
Guys, thanks a lot for replies.

cresshead: Yes, I'm aware of that. I'm in contact with a fellow of mine who enrolled this autumn. He also says it is consuming a lot of time from him and that he is facing quite a challenge.

Dexter2999: That is an awesome collection. I have his book, but I haven't heard of these disc set. If they are as good as the book is I'll seriously consider buying this. Thanks for the head up.