PDA

View Full Version : Ocean displacement, render prob



fab_69_3d
10-30-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi everybody,
i really need your help, guys!!

i hope someone can indicate me how to smooth this artefact in my ocean render.
i use an displacement procedural map of dpont "windywave", the subpatch render is of 200
even if i do a 400 or 600 subpatch division, there are no sucess
as u see i d like smoooooth this polygon prob.
i tried a displacement node too

my texture is smoothed at 89.53 and i try to change the subdivision order from "first" to "after displacement"
anyone can give me some other ways pleasssssse

thks

RollerJesus
10-30-2008, 11:02 AM
Have you tried lower the texture smoothing to something like 45 or so?

fab_69_3d
10-30-2008, 11:06 AM
thks roller jesus

as you can see in the texture editor, there are no possibility to smooth directly (if i dont make mistake)

we can just scale map but here, all the "animation" is great for me, (good proportions)

do you think i can make something else?

RollerJesus
10-30-2008, 11:13 AM
I meant try 45 in the smoothing in the Surface Editor.

I'm sorry, I don't know what you mean by "do you think i can make something else?" Can you try asking another way?

fab_69_3d
10-30-2008, 11:38 AM
i tried 0-40-300-500

nothing change, i just have the feeling its about the displacement map process.

cause
ripple1 procedural
ripple2 procedural

havent this problem, but, it s really not a "real" waves effect for me

thks a lot

bazsa73
10-30-2008, 12:25 PM
I would try different topolgy for the water surface. Make flat box, divisions can be 8x8.
Triangulate the plane.
Subdivide it using metaform.
(Press tab)
Then you will get that nice structure which is much closer to the pattern water follows than a surface built up from neighbouring squares.

multipass
10-30-2008, 07:15 PM
I had a similar problem with a terrain i had to create recently.

Try upping the amount of polys you have before subdivision in modeler.

tab>ctrl+d>tab>ctrl+d>tab then bring that back to layout and try.

toby
10-31-2008, 01:48 AM
A subpatch level 500 gives you half a million polys from 1 subpatch, that should be enough.

And if it hasn't changed with all those settings, maybe you should look at what is being reflected in the water. A reflection image that's too small will cause this problem too. If you have an image added as a spherical map, the resolution should be pretty big, at least 2400 pixels by 1200 if it has any sharp details.