PDA

View Full Version : noob subD question and mirror

gumbytrain
10-26-2008, 06:47 AM
Hi,

I'm working on a model tutorial from simplylightwave of the defiant space ship.

The narrator is using 8.5 in the tutorial and using the sub-patches for smoothing.

I'm using v9.5 and I've got subd set to catmull clark.

When I mirror the model and turn on subD there are holes in the mirrored part of the model. If I use the older sub-patch the model is fine.

After messing with it a bit, it seems related to setting edge weights. If I set the weights back to zero 99% of the model will smooth using catmull-clark fine.

There are a few polys that I have had to delete and rebuild - and they aren't on the edges that are mirrored and are fine on the "original" side of the model.

Since I'm very new to Lightwave I'd like to ask if there are "rules" to subD modeling using catmull and lightwave or if I may be doing something wrong.

Thanks!

Mark

hrgiger
10-26-2008, 10:22 AM
I believe this is one of the long standing bugs with Newteks implementation of CC subdivision. I don't use them because they still underperform but from what I remember, mirroring doesn't work if you already have edge weights applied. You'll want to mirror first, and then apply your edge weights.

Surrealist.
10-26-2008, 03:17 PM
If you are going to be doing lots of mirror/symmetry work in LW you might want to look at Terry Ford's free mirror tools. Google that and you'll find him. I use them every day and they are a real help for modeling in symmetry.

gumbytrain
10-26-2008, 04:40 PM
Should I use subpatch and not use Catumull Clark when making objects that I'll be mirroring?

How does Catmull Clark perform in regards to deformations, etc.?

Thanks

Surrealist.
10-26-2008, 11:26 PM
CC's look much nicer than subd's. But there are a few problems with it.