PDA

View Full Version : Develop an Add-On "Black Box" that Cleanly provides Y/C and/or component IN Loop-Thru



Quiet1onTheSet
10-25-2008, 10:31 AM
The Subject header says it all:

Develop a "Black Box" add-on, that cleanly provides Y/C and/or component IN Loop-Thru, to be used with TriCaster and VT systems.

PIZAZZ
10-25-2008, 05:33 PM
that is called a distribution amplifier. You can find them in all sizes and formats.

Quiet1onTheSet
10-26-2008, 10:11 AM
that is called a distribution amplifier. You can find them in all sizes and formats.Well, no -- the request here, is for a more specialized type of distro amp that comprises of 6 amps in one (so each TriCaster STUDIO video input has loopthru capability, as it were.

I'd purchase one, if reasonable in price!

jcupp
10-26-2008, 11:41 AM
No sense re-inventing the wheel:

http://www.markertek.com/SearchProduct.asp?item=DEF%2D1X2DA&off=0&sort=prod&skuonly=0&search=DA&pagesize=20

http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=PT102A&cat=VIDEOEQUIP&subcat=&prodClass=VIDEODA&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off=

http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=401C&cat=ROUTERS&subcat=&prodClass=SVIDEODA&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off=

http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=RK%2D81&cat=RACKSCASES&subcat=&prodClass=RACKMOUNTS&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off=

Quiet1onTheSet
10-27-2008, 01:58 AM
No sense re-inventing the wheel:

http://www.markertek.com/SearchProduct.asp?item=DEF%2D1X2DA&off=0&sort=prod&skuonly=0&search=DA&pagesize=20

http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=PT102A&cat=VIDEOEQUIP&subcat=&prodClass=VIDEODA&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off= Nope. That's 1 In/2 Out. That's not it, Jeff.


http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=401C&cat=ROUTERS&subcat=&prodClass=SVIDEODA&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off= Naw! That's 1 In/2 Out. That's not it either -- but it's 1/6th of the way there! Goodness! It's just "1 channel", and 140 bucks alone. I like what it does, but it's far too few. I'm thinkin' it might be more cost-effective to have a manufacturer design and sell a unit that's got just one chassis, rather than combining the cost of 6 separate chassis, as you're suggesting here, Jeff, Yo!


http://www.markertek.com/Product.asp?baseItem=RK%2D81&cat=RACKSCASES&subcat=&prodClass=RACKMOUNTS&mfg=Kramer+Electronics&search=0&off=Yeah. a rack mount kit, so one can purchase the unit immediately above, 6 times over, then mount 'em eh? 'Not what the Doctor ordered!

Nice try, there, though.

With TriCaster being such a huge success, I'll bet there's a decent market for what I'm asking for. :D

Adam_LightPlay
10-27-2008, 04:21 PM
I presume this is for monitoring all your feeds while switching. If you are O/K with B/W monitoring, you can use a BNC T-connector on the TC's input to "pass thru" the Y part of Y/C or YUV, and that will give you a good B/W composite video signal

But let's dream bigger Here's my dream black box:
Start with what you described, 6 Y/C, Composite, or YUV pass throughs, but add a VGA input that is fed from the TriCaster's, (kinda old-fashioned 4x3), 1280x1024 GUI output.
The output of this magic box feeds to a wide screen computer monitor, (which is about all you can find these days). The 4x3 TC GUI is moved to the right hand side of the Widescreen Monitor and six thumbnails of your video sources run down the extra space on the left! Brilliant, huh?
Professor Jennison?
Miranda?
Anybody?

PIZAZZ
10-28-2008, 12:10 AM
Already done too Adam.

Avitech has a box that accepts 1 DVI input and 4 composite or SDI inputs. You can configure the layout to be just as you describe. The model I have used and installed is the RAINIER-4a1v.

http://www.avitechvideo.com/rainierseries.shtml


http://www.avitechvideo.com/Avitech_RAINIER_datasheet_04_08.pdf

Adam_LightPlay
10-28-2008, 12:32 AM
Thanks Jef,
It looks pretty classy. But I couldn't find any prices.
Does it cost less than a TriCaster? :-)

jcupp
10-28-2008, 08:11 AM
Nope. That's 1 In/2 Out. That's not it, Jeff.

Naw! That's 1 In/2 Out. That's not it either -- but it's 1/6th of the way there! Goodness! It's just "1 channel", and 140 bucks alone. I like what it does, but it's far too few. I'm thinkin' it might be more cost-effective to have a manufacturer design and sell a unit that's got just one chassis, rather than combining the cost of 6 separate chassis, as you're suggesting here, Jeff, Yo!

Yeah. a rack mount kit, so one can purchase the unit immediately above, 6 times over, then mount 'em eh? 'Not what the Doctor ordered!

Nice try, there, though.

With TriCaster being such a huge success, I'll bet there's a decent market for what I'm asking for. :D

So how much would you pay? What kind of enclosure?

I don't see that big of a market. TC and TC-Pro users have camera ISO displays onboard. Studio users can probably pop for a few DAs or use loop throughs if they are using composite.

Many of the rack mount 'multi-monitors' are composite only which complicates things for Y/C users so do you really want to pay for a device that transcodes Y/C to composite and if so how good does the transcoder need to be?

Small runs of electronic equipment have to be essentially hand made so they can be quite expensive. The hardest part is having small runs of enclosures made.

Quiet1onTheSet
10-28-2008, 12:37 PM
So how much would you pay? What kind of enclosure?

I don't see that big of a market. TC and TC-Pro users have camera ISO displays onboard. Studio users can probably pop for a few DAs or use loop throughs if they are using composite.

Hmmm. Seems to be a growing and potentially large market for TriCaster STUDIO and TriCaster BROADCAST purchasers to have available to them, a device that sells for approximately $595, which will provided for 6 "channels" of Dual BNC in (for either Composite or Y/C input); which will also provide for either Component or Y/C output on each channel.

I'm thinking that if even NewTek considered providing this as an Add-On product (seeing that you believe that this device would be much to "specialized" for it to be marketable in the larger arena), it would most certainly win a lot of hearts (especially among owners of the upper-tiered TriCaster products).

Obviously, this isn't a Feature Request, so much as a "New Product Request", but I thought it useful to post it here, besides.


Many of the rack mount 'multi-monitors' are composite only which complicates things for Y/C users so do you really want to pay for a device that transcodes Y/C to composite and if so how good does the transcoder need to be?

Fair question. OK, then -- suppose I give consideration for proposing 2 refined versions of what I've requested eariler?

To wit:

3-Channel, BNC Composite 1-IN/2-OUT
6 Channel, BNC Composite 1-IN/2-OUT


Obviously, one wouldn't want to pay for features they couldn't use, and also, one would require that the signal quality of the proposed product be at the minimum, equivalent to that of the TriCaster products' input circuitry.


Small runs of electronic equipment have to be essentially hand made so they can be quite expensive. The hardest part is having small runs of enclosures made.

From what I can ascertain, Jeff -- all the points you've presented, and queries raised, are sound, with a salient emphasis on what seems at the current time, to be practical, and what's perhaps not.

Thanks for your patient and resourceful interaction on all this.

PIZAZZ
10-29-2008, 10:01 AM
Why reinvent the wheel?

A DA is what you are asking for and there are many available in any configuration you want.

Quality is directly proportional to the money you spend though. .

PIZAZZ
10-29-2008, 10:02 AM
Thanks Jef,
It looks pretty classy. But I couldn't find any prices.
Does it cost less than a TriCaster? :-)

A little less, but not much. :)

Quiet1onTheSet
10-29-2008, 11:10 PM
Why reinvent the wheel?

A DA is what you are asking for and there are many available in any configuration you want..*Any* configuration I want? I don't see the evidence for that, given the fact that I'm having difficulty finding multi-channel units. With all due respect, never mind the suggestion that I want a distribution amp. That's a given. Instead, "multichannel" is the operative word in this thread.

I like the fact that some quality audio companies have developed multi-channel audio compressors (Presonus® comes to mind...), to help reduce the cost of redundant purchases for the end-user, who has a good number of channels to bring under control

It'd be a terrific find for me, if a similar offering cropped up, in the way of what I've been requesting (or suggesting) all along here.

If anyone finds something that comes close do let us know here?

Kudos to Jeff for coming up with a way to build one through multiple purchases of single-channel units, then tying them together in a rack mount (despite the comparatively unnecessary costs involved, relative to what I'm touting here).

DMcClaflin
10-30-2008, 05:07 AM
*Any* configuration I want? I don't see the evidence for that, given the fact that I'm having difficulty finding multi-channel units.

If anyone finds something that comes close do let us know here?

I agree with Jeff.

It's out there ... Just have to dig.

These units might accommodate your needs.

http://www.mcclaflinmobilemedia.com/servlet/the-Amplifiers/Categories

D. McClaflin
http://www.mcclaflinmobilemedia.com

Quiet1onTheSet
10-30-2008, 11:20 AM
I agree with Jeff.

It's out there ... Just have to dig.

These units might accommodate your needs.

http://www.mcclaflinmobilemedia.com/servlet/the-Amplifiers/Categories

D. McClaflin
http://www.mcclaflinmobilemedia.com

Way to go, DMcC'!


Jef, I shall now concede to your argument, that such a multi-input beast already exists -- and well within the ballpark of the price I'd been hoping for. Wow.

The Kramer VP-72 is a hit with us here. We'll have to recommend one to a church we're dealing with. Way to go D.McClaflin!

Also, all -- the title in the original post does a poor job at describing what I've been requesting. I apologize for that.


.