PDA

View Full Version : Extender plus not working

Exodus1161
10-18-2008, 08:19 PM
note: i only got lightwave today, im a noob

Im following a tutorial to make a car and it says i need to use the extender tool, i've selected the points of the box i want to "'extend" (I tryed selecting many different points) i hit "e" but the icon doesnt change, i hit the "extender plus" button on the left hand pannel but it doesn't "light up" as if it has been selected.
:help:

IMI
10-18-2008, 08:49 PM
You're not going to see any immediate result when you activate it, unless you're using it on sub-patched polygons, and it has no interface. Try activating it then pressing t for translate or y for rotate, h for stretch, H for scale, and then moving, scaling, whatever. Then you should see something happen.

Hopper
10-18-2008, 08:53 PM
Ahhh... I remember my first Extender Plus encounter ....

When you selected your points or polys and selected Extender Plus or "e" on the keyboard, nothing notable happened on your screen, however it did indeed work. The trick is to understand that Extender Plus creates a duplicate set of geometry exactly where the selected points or polys were.

Do this and I'll illustrate...

Create a box. In the back view, select the top points. Press "e". Doesn't seem like anything happened, but without deselecting, now press "t" (move), then move the points up... voila! You know have two sets of points... the originals and the ones you have extended.

got it? :)

Just remember that the "act" of extending doesn't "do" anything in particular as far as cursors go or messages on the screen... it simply extends and leaves you with the tool you were already using.

The manual also explains this pretty well.

Hopper
10-18-2008, 08:53 PM