PDA

View Full Version : should I upgrade to 64 bit?



aSkeptic
10-17-2008, 10:11 PM
Hello 64 bit people! I have never run a 64 bit operating system before and I am considering to upgrade my XP Home edition to some 64 bit windows OS. My processor is 64 bit capable, it is a core 2 duo. I currently have 2 GB of ram and I am probably going to upgrade that to the max my motherboard will take, 4 gigs. I've been told that a 32 bit windows application cannot access more than 3500 megs of ram, is this true? Is there a real noticeable speed difference for Lightwave between XP 32 and XP 64 or Vista 64? Are there any gotchas like 32 bit programs that are unstable or inoperative in a 64 bit Windows OS? Can a 32 bit plugin work on Lightwave 64 bit edition?

Would I be better off with 64 bit XP or Vista? If Vista, should I get the home basic Vista for the smallest memory footprint? Vista seems to gobble memory and I can do without all the aero fluff.

Have I asked too many questions for a single topic?:D

hrgiger
10-17-2008, 11:38 PM
Generally, you can get up to about 3300MB of usuable RAM in a 32 bit system. Upgrading to 64 bit isn't going to help you significantly if you can only install 4 GB of RAM on your motherborad.

ghaledev
10-18-2008, 12:45 AM
I am happy with Vista x64 Business Edition, but I run only mainstream apps. XP x64 works well too. LightWave runs a little faster with 64 bits instead of 32 bits. More bits must be better!

biliousfrog
10-18-2008, 03:22 AM
As giger said, you're not going to get the full benefit of a 64bit OS with only 4gb RAM but you might see a little speed increase. I've been using XP64 for around 18 months and love it. There were a few issues with quicktime when I first started using it but all-in-all everything works great.

Remember that a 32bit OS not only restricts you to just over 3gb RAM (with the 3gb switch) but only allows 2gb for applications, a 64bit OS will allow up to 4gb for 32bit apps.

Sensei
10-18-2008, 05:24 AM
Wider addressing space on 64 bit systems mean that 4 GB physical memory doesn't matter, because if it's exceeded virtual memory on disk will be used.. Of course it'll be a bit slower but still running..

3DGFXStudios
10-18-2008, 05:31 AM
I'd go x64. I've a lot of scenes that I can't even open in win32....

zapper1998
10-18-2008, 11:55 AM
Yes

Hopper
10-18-2008, 11:59 AM
Just make sure, before you go through all the trouble of loading the OS, that you have 64bit drivers for all the hardware in your system. If not, then you'll be SOL for that hardware. That's why I'm still stuck with XP32 on my main box unfortunately. I have hardware that I "have" to have, but there are no 64bit drivers. I dual boot, but what a hassle and waste of drive space for shared files.

Stel
10-18-2008, 12:54 PM
And check your plugins - many are 32 bit only.

Michael
10-18-2008, 01:04 PM
Another follow up question about 64bit LW. If you have a renderfarm I would expect that if you create a scene in 64bit LW that your render nodes would have to be 64bit as well. Is that correct?

aSkeptic
10-18-2008, 01:13 PM
And check your plugins - many are 32 bit only.

Are 32 bit plugins totally incompatible with Lightwave 64 bit edition?

Sensei
10-18-2008, 01:36 PM
Are 32 bit plugins totally incompatible with Lightwave 64 bit edition?

Correct. Useless. Can't be even added (Add Plug-Ins fail).

JohnMarchant
10-18-2008, 02:22 PM
You could always have 32 and 64 bit LightWave installed on a 64bit system then its up to you which one you use. Some plugins are only 32 bit but 64 is catching up. I use 64 bit with Lightwave 64bit most of the time but occasionally i go to 32 bit, mostly in modeler to utilise some older plugins

aSkeptic
10-18-2008, 03:20 PM
Thanks to all for answering my questions, I think I'm going to go for it.

Hopper
10-18-2008, 03:24 PM
Thanks to all for answering my questions, I think I'm going to go for it.
If you have the drive space, you might want to at least think about a dual boot system, so you "can" go to a 32bit XP in case you run into some apps that just won't work right under a 64bit OS. I have 3 that won't work in 64XP right now, 2 multitrackers and Adobe After Effects gives me crap whenever I try to publish.

aSkeptic
10-18-2008, 04:56 PM
If you have the drive space, you might want to at least think about a dual boot system, so you "can" go to a 32bit XP in case you run into some apps that just won't work right under a 64bit OS. I have 3 that won't work in 64XP right now, 2 multitrackers and Adobe After Effects gives me crap whenever I try to publish.

Thanks for the info. Yes I will be dual booting for sure.

starbase1
10-20-2008, 07:01 AM
Or maybe even triple boot... I don't use Ubuntu Studio that often, but on more than one occasion it has been seriously useful, (not least for killing off some garbage files that Windows would not let me delete).

And while I get irritated by idiots who think Gimp is as good as photoshop, Gimp on a 64 bit OS with lots of memory really thunders through big images.

I went for Ubuntu Studio as it comes with lots of graphics, audio and video apps included, but I think it wise to have the option of a Linux variant of some sort, and it costs you nothing...

coremi
10-20-2008, 08:02 AM
to delete files u can't really delete use Moveonboot, it's free.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Boot-Manager-Disk/MoveOnBoot.shtml

select all the files u need not only one at the time.