PDA

View Full Version : Bones effecting wrong things

kdkatz
10-17-2008, 01:52 PM
Well I'm still very new at 3D animation. I just finished boning my model but when I manipulate a bone it effects other things. For example if I try to rotate a toe of one foot the toes of the other foot follow the movement and become stretched out. How can I control what the bones control?

BlueApple
10-17-2008, 02:52 PM
There are a few strategies for this. One is to select the offending bone, hit P for properties and then adjust its range. Check Limited Range and mess with the Min and Max values.

You can also paint weight maps in Modeler, and then have bones only affect specific weight maps. This can be labor intensive.

Another option people employ is "hold bones." Add extra bones in places you want to have more influence, and just hide them if they don't need to be animated directly.

SplineGod
10-17-2008, 10:30 PM
I wouldnt use limited range. Its mainly a hold over from the days before weight maps. I also wouldnt use any weight maps at first. They depend upon bone influence to do their thing. Select all your bones and hit the r key to rest them. This lets each vertex know how much each bone will effect them AND activates the bones.

Surrealist.
10-17-2008, 11:44 PM
Well I'm still very new at 3D animation. I just finished boning my model but when I manipulate a bone it effects other things. For example if I try to rotate a toe of one foot the toes of the other foot follow the movement and become stretched out. How can I control what the bones control?

The main properties you want to look at when using bones without weights are:

1) The "Fall off type". This will effect all the bones. Play with the various settings and you'll see the influence change and become more localized. (I think that is is the higher the number the more local)