PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop Elements or Photoshop CS3(4)?

Drakonsden
10-16-2008, 05:58 PM
I am relatively new to 3D modeling and animation and am having a hard time justifying the cost of Photoshop (CS3). I have the newest version of Photoshop Elements and it seems really complete.

Is it really worth the huge amount of money for a full version of Photoshop?

What is the difference as it pertains to 3D modeling and animation? What is missing in the Elements version that a modeler/animator would not be able to do without?

Thanks in advance for all you help

RedBull
10-16-2008, 07:38 PM
I am relatively new to 3D modeling and animation and am having a hard time justifying the cost of Photoshop (CS3). I have the newest version of Photoshop Elements and it seems really complete.

Is it really worth the huge amount of money for a full version of Photoshop?

It's unlikely that at your current level of involvement a full Photoshop CS would be worth the investment. (PSCS is overpriced IMO) It is an invaluable tool, but these days I could use 3DC or a compositing package not to mention LW's nodes to do many things PS was once king at.

I would at least start with other 2D paint packages like Gimp and perhaps Inkscape for vector work. Both are starting to get some decent functionality for free, Gimp 2.6+ recently introduced brush mechanics/dynamics which is an important step which will get better in upcoming releases.

What is the difference as it pertains to 3D modeling and animation? What is missing in the Elements version that a modeler/animator would not be able to do without?

Generally in 3D if you are an all-rounder you will usually get to know Photoshop for the following reasons: Texture and Surfacing, Post Work, Editing, Matte Paintings.