PDA

View Full Version : Silly newbie! ALPHA CHANNEL



cinevid
10-16-2008, 08:32 AM
I still can't figure out a simple alpha channel on a polygon. I have a .png sequence, 300 frames of a Particle Illusion effect I want. The alpha is on in the sequence, I see that the frames are correct, a transparent background, as I check them in Photoshop they are 32 bit files.

I have a simple square polygon in LW 3D. I map the sequence on the surface, turn on enable alpha and I still see the polygon surface, that should be removed by the alpha....What am I doing wrong? Thanks!!!
mp

Scazzino
10-16-2008, 08:51 AM
The alpha channel will only cause the surface map to show in certain places, it won't hide the rest of a polygon. For that you either need to use the alpha to drive the transparency channel of the surface or you need to apply the alpha as a clip map on the object in the object properties panel. Look up transparency and clip maps in the manual and it should give you the information that you need.

cinevid
10-16-2008, 09:12 AM
Thanks! The transparency channel seemed to work OK.
mp