PDA

View Full Version : Hello All

mjjwatson
10-06-2008, 07:24 AM
Hi there! Having been given the privilege of learning 3D whilst getting paid at my job, even though I'm a complete newbie to anything outside of web design and video editting, I thought I'd come here and try and get some lovely advice and learn from others.

Does anyone have any general advice for a complete starter? I've been working my way through the brilliant video tutorials, but was wondering if anyone else had any other general advice.

Also, just to throw it out there, I have a specific conundrum:

I'm trying to create an asteroid that explodes into pieces when shot at by a laser. This is because I'm a geek, and felt like doing it. :)

Although I have got the hang of the modelling process to a certain extent, I'm having trouble 'breaking up' my model, ready for it to shatter on impact. I'm not sure which tool is best really- booleon/ julliene seemed likely, but I'm missing something I'm sure.

I'd love some help from you whizzes!

Thanks in advance.

Iain
10-06-2008, 10:08 AM
Hello

There are some good plug ins that break up objects.

Search for a user called Dodgy and go to his website. He has a free plug called Break up.

This is quite an advanced (but fun!) area though as you need to use dynamics.

William's tutorial's cover that part.

akademus
10-07-2008, 01:24 AM
Hi, you certainly have a great privilege. I have seen a very few people given the chance to be paid while they are still learning the software or 3D in general. Usually you get a month or two to get into certain 3D package and that happens only if you are really good. Enjoy your sweet position!

There is a whole book of general advices for beginners, but some of more experienced users will find useful info as well.