PDA

View Full Version : Cloth Crashing

mccabejc
10-04-2008, 09:25 AM
I haven't used the cloth feature in LW for a very long time, and it looks like it hasn't improved much since it was introduced many years ago. Y'know, back when it was a plugin from Japan that Newtek bought and kludged into LW.

I tried a simple, 2-D, tripled, flat planar object, set as thick cloth with self collision, and added a flat, horizontal planar collision object for it to collide with. Did an "IKB Calculate", and it crashed.

I've been monkeying with cloth on and off for a couple days, and it seems to crash a lot. When you re-select a different type of cloth preset it seems to not like it, and in general it seems pretty unstable. Not to mention how horrendously user-unfriendly it is...

Anyway, is it just me ?

OlaHaldor
10-04-2008, 09:52 AM
I've never done cloth before, but I'd like to get into it. However, I get - like you - constant crash to desktop whenever I hit the Calculate button. I'm on LW 64-bit.

mccabejc
10-04-2008, 03:14 PM
Oh, and the Abort rarely seems to work. And often the calculations go off into never-never land and you can't stop it unless you kill the Layout process.

Same as it used to do many years ago.

Y'know, this is just crazy. I'm certainly not a LW newbie, as I've been using it on and off since the Amiga days. But how the heck can Newtek expect to get anywhere with this if it can't make a simple cloth simulation a little more bulletproof for the average user?

Maybe I'm doing something goofy, since I haven't been at this lately, and as we all know the cloth interface is ridiculously non user-intuitive. But if they can't clean this up a bit after all these years they might as well give up.

mccabejc
10-04-2008, 04:48 PM
Okay, this is priceless...