PDA

View Full Version : Center a model to 0,0,0



hub73
09-29-2008, 06:06 AM
Hi !

Is there a quick way to center an object with multiple layers to x=0,y=0,z=0. Note that i don't want set each layer objects to 0,0,0. But center all the object (imagine a bouding box). Hope your undersand what i mean !

Thanks !

Mitja
09-29-2008, 06:12 AM
F2 should do it!

hub73
09-29-2008, 06:20 AM
So easy ! F2 for Modify->translate->center !
Thanks

JeffrySG
09-29-2008, 06:25 AM
If you need to; F3 will rest the object on the ground (and center it too) if you ever need to do that.

Mitja
09-29-2008, 12:30 PM
So easy ! F2 for Modify->translate->center !
Thanks

You're welcome!

mav3rick
09-29-2008, 12:40 PM
lol f2 was one of my 1st shortcuts i have rmmbr back in my early days of lwaving together with a :)

BlueApple
09-29-2008, 12:48 PM
Keep in mind that F2 centers the selected object data. If you have one layer selected and hit F2, the layer gets centered.

If you select multiple layers and hit F2, each layer does not get centered individually. Instead Modeler looks at all of the selected object data and centers the group.

Just be sure to select and center layers one at a time, if that's what you are trying to accomplish.

hub73
09-29-2008, 02:00 PM
Is there also a way to automatic center a box or a ball when you create it ? (just the box, if there are also others objects inside this layer).

cagey5
09-29-2008, 02:06 PM
Just hi-light/select the item you want selected before you hit F2. Anything not selected won't move.
And the old LW adage.. 'If nothing is selected then everything is selected'

Surrealist.
09-29-2008, 10:23 PM
Is there also a way to automatic center a box or a ball when you create it ? (just the box, if there are also others objects inside this layer).

n for numeric and center it there when you create it.

You can also save yourself one tiny step when creating a box in an empty layer by closing the tool with F2 in stead of space bar or enter key and it will close the tool with the center command.