PDA

View Full Version : Registering Lightwave 9.5 ...

darkMason
09-27-2008, 05:40 PM
I hate this to be my first post ... but so be it ...

OK .. first a bit about me (since this is my first post, and it's relevant). I've been programming for 20+ years; 6 of that time in software/hardware verification, and 2 and a half years of that in hardware/software upgrades/installs (see where I'm going?). Through all of this time I've had a fascination with 3D, which is why I currently have Lightwave (my 6th package in those 20+ years).

Anyway, I installed and attempted to register Lightwave 9.5 today, and it just isn't going as planned. I just built a new PC, so I first installed 9.0 and registered it (using the seperate utility) without any issue. I then installed 9.5 and things started to go bad ...

I installed 9.5, and at the end of the install, the installer asked to update the sentinel drivers. I said 'yes' (yeah ... I actually said 'yes'), and they installed. At the end of the install, I said 'no' to the immediate reboot (which is probably a good idea because the lightwave installer hadn't had a chance to finish and config the uninstaller). After a couple second of disk activity, the Sentinel installer fails, and says that I should re-install it. I let the 9.5 installer finish, and rebooted ...