PDA

View Full Version : Flash Media Encoder 2.5



rally1
09-24-2008, 03:10 PM
Unless it's as simple as doing the update myself, I would like to see Flash Media Encoder 2.5 supported on the TC. Fhis would allow Flash h.264 live streaming. the hardware is more that capable.

rally1
12-15-2008, 01:44 PM
Anything coming? Installing FME 2.5 directly seems to cause some issues with cropping and stop/starting the encode cannot be controlled.

avpM2
01-07-2009, 02:03 AM
Hi together,

I'm also interested to use the newest FME Version with the Tricaster!
We did a lot of streaming jobs last year with a second cpomputer and FME 2.5 running. Our Customer expect High Quality, and we have do support latest Flash streaming technology!

Does someone know if there is a way to use a newer Version on the Trivaster then 2.01?

And also know someone how to make own presets from FME for the Tricaster? I tried the way it ist described in the FAQ from Newtek, but when I follow the description (start DOS Prompt in Admin Mode) and open FME, I can't choose any other resolution the 720x480 and can't open the "Video Capture Device Settings". (No way and tried it several times...)

In the DOS Window I saw the Message: VT Hardware Core Update Required - Please Update your VT core with the latest VT Core Update.

What does it mean?
Anyone out there with an idea?

Thx.
Steve

DeanAU
01-13-2009, 11:15 AM
Bump for Flash Media live Encoder 3

rally1
01-13-2009, 11:20 AM
With FME 3.0 now out the Tricaster is woefully behind the times now.

http://www.digitalbuilt.com/?p=56

So without a separate encoder box Tricaster users can't make use of new featured like dynamic streaming.

At least tell us why we don't have the newer FMe, is it stability, CPU power limitations?

avpM2
01-16-2009, 09:57 AM
my Customer also like to go for dynamic streaming and he wants that we use FME 3 as soon as possible.

Would be good to get an answer here from Newtek...

Thx.
Steve

Paul Lara
01-16-2009, 10:21 AM
NewTek is aware of the desire to upgrade to FMe 3, but I don't have a date for when that will happen, Steve.

avpM2
01-20-2009, 01:09 AM
NewTek is aware of the desire to upgrade to FMe 3, but I don't have a date for when that will happen, Steve.

Thanks Paul!

BTW
I posted also a question about own FME Presets in Triaster, to get closer to our streaming settings we used on a seperate PC with FME running, but never got an answer here to my problems (see above and also under "General Support". Even an Email to the Newtek Support!)

Thx.
Steve

Paul Lara
01-21-2009, 04:27 PM
There is good news on the horizon regarding Flash Media Encoder, TriCaster and Ustream. You should be hearing something in just a few days, gang. ;)

rally1
01-22-2009, 11:24 AM
That would be great. Right now we are carting around a Shuttle case with a Viewcast Osprey card with FME on it to take the feed from the TC studio.

DeanAU
01-27-2009, 07:20 PM
Another welcomed feature would be the ablity to stream to a backup flash publishing point - and the ablity to load and save stream profiles.

rally1
01-28-2009, 11:01 AM
A few days are up!

Paul Lara
01-28-2009, 12:54 PM
We've been moving so fast that time has slowed down. Smiles are just around the corner.

A few days are up!

rally1
01-28-2009, 03:01 PM
Sounds good, I am sure it will happen right after I finish this project I am doing with an external Flash Encoder ;).

DeanAU
01-28-2009, 10:06 PM
Stereo audio would be good too

<audio>
<device>VT Audio Device</device>
<crossbar_input>0</crossbar_input>
<sample_rate>22050</sample_rate>
<channels>1</channels>
<input_volume>98</input_volume>
</audio>

rally1
01-29-2009, 12:13 AM
You could probably change that in the XML manually right?

DeanAU
01-29-2009, 01:25 AM
I'll give that a shot tomorrow

ACross
02-02-2009, 07:33 PM
Watch this space ... we have something cool coming.

:jam:

DeanAU
02-02-2009, 10:11 PM
*watches closely*

rally1
02-03-2009, 10:36 AM
Tease!

Paul Lara
02-03-2009, 10:39 AM
*watches closely*

Please. Stand. By.

ted
02-03-2009, 12:17 PM
Please. Stand. By.

Can I just sit and watch? :D

PIZAZZ
02-03-2009, 02:09 PM
How about a webstream or a countdown timer to sit and watch?? These forums are so boring with the lack of movement. At least the Lightwave guys get to watch a countdown timer and try to figure out how to solve the world's problems in the meantime.

DeanAU
02-03-2009, 06:14 PM
Good point you raise there!

Quiet1onTheSet
02-03-2009, 08:16 PM
Can I just sit and watch? :DSure! Like me, you can be right on the edge of your seat.
:D
Can't wait to *see* it though...
:dance:

rally1
02-04-2009, 09:23 PM
After the Core meltdown let's hope the Tricaster department doesn't start with this "One moment" stuff too ;) It was "a few days" two weeks ago.

rally1
02-09-2009, 11:49 AM
Another week, another plea :)

powwows
02-10-2009, 09:21 AM
Any update?

Paul Lara
02-11-2009, 01:38 PM
Let get something definitive for you.

Neex99
02-11-2009, 06:58 PM
We just got our FMS 3.5 server up and running - Hurry !!!! we're waiting!!!

Paul Lara
02-12-2009, 02:47 PM
The TriCaster Update is on its way, but there may be another feature we are adding to this Update, so next week at the earliest.

Koinonia
02-12-2009, 05:08 PM
The TriCaster Update is on its way, but there may be another feature we are adding to this Update, so next week at the earliest.

Hi Paul,

Why donīt you tell us the new features that this update is adding to Tricaster, so we can dream about it?:)

DiscreetFX
02-12-2009, 08:09 PM
@Koinonia

I hope they are adding the record your dreams to the TriCaster while you sleep feature. Then you can edit your $0 budget movie when you wake up in the morning.

Paul Lara
02-13-2009, 08:44 AM
Why donīt you tell us the new features that this update is adding to Tricaster, so we can dream about it?:)

Well, we're not certain it will be added, so I'd rather not go there just yet. :tsktsk:

sandogeditor
02-16-2009, 09:56 AM
will this be available for vt5 users too?

DeanAU
02-17-2009, 03:35 AM
Would really really like to have this update by friday...

Neex99
02-17-2009, 12:29 PM
Paul Lara --- any word on what day this week. We have a lot of testing to do with our Flash environment and we do not want to proceed until we have the update installed.

ACross
02-17-2009, 07:24 PM
@Koinonia

I hope they are adding the record your dreams to the TriCaster while you sleep feature. Then you can edit your $0 budget movie when you wake up in the morning.

That might be the single best feature request I have ever seen.

Neex99
02-20-2009, 08:46 AM
Well it's Friday.... any word yet on the upgrade?

Quiet1onTheSet
02-20-2009, 04:18 PM
Well it's Friday.... any word yet on the upgrade?Hey, if multi-codec selection for LIVE PRODUCTION is being considered for inclusion, it would be worth the wait, gang.

Nod, nod; wink, wink, 'know what ah' mean?
:hey:

ACross
02-20-2009, 09:27 PM
I do not believe that we have announced any update yet, although one might have been hinted at. Certainly I do not think we have committed to a time-frame ... like all good wines, good upgrades need to ferment properly before we can open the bottle. My one promise is that you will probably not be disappointed ...

Andrew

Koinonia
02-21-2009, 05:08 AM
The TriCaster Update is on its way, but there may be another feature we are adding to this Update, so next week at the earliest.


I think it was clear that the update would be in this week... :hey:

SBowie
02-21-2009, 06:49 AM
I think it was clear that the update would be in this week... :hey:Well, I'm afraid the post you quoted doesn't make that clear - it says "at the earliest", which means 'no sooner than (next week), possibly later'. Sorry :(

Koinonia
02-21-2009, 08:08 AM
Well, I'm afraid the post you quoted doesn't make that clear - it says "at the earliest", which means 'no sooner than (next week), possibly later'. Sorry :(

Youīre right! Itīs ok for me, because I know Newtek is doing a good job!:thumbsup:

SBowie
02-21-2009, 11:28 AM
Thanks for taking it well. I know waiting is hard, especially when one really needs a specific feature for practical reasons ... but I'm sure we all want adequate testing to be performed before release, too.

Paul Lara
02-23-2009, 11:23 AM
We're still working on it, gang, and an additional tasty feature seems like it will be included in this update. Stay tuned.

csandy
02-23-2009, 12:24 PM
I'm excited! I think I will hold off on taping some new shows until I see what the buzz is about.... Or maybe I'll just bother the PEG folks in Fairfax county. They use a TriCaster (really nice set up too).

Quiet1onTheSet
02-23-2009, 09:53 PM
We're still working on it, gang, and an additional tasty feature seems like it will be included in this update. Stay tuned.
'Got my appetite worked up, there Paul!
:tongue:

Neex99
02-26-2009, 04:46 PM
Paul Lara any word yet? Let us know... the gang is waiting!!!

Koinonia
02-26-2009, 04:57 PM
or give us a list of the features...
... I changed my mind: it will be hard to sleep!:D

ted
02-26-2009, 10:20 PM
I think the hardest decision for a company is to NOT make an announcement.
Releasing a product or build can be a challenge. You have everything including the press release ready to go, and some dirt bag software guy finds a problem! :devil: :D

NewTek has been burned by this before and I think they are being a little cautious building expectations.
I'm sure we'll hear something about something some time.

Neex99
02-27-2009, 06:11 PM
Yep Ted your right. I would rather wait and let them do the testing that they need. We depend on our TriCaster Studio to much and it's pretty stable. I wouldn't want them to rock the boat by releasing an unstable update.

Neex99
03-01-2009, 12:01 AM
I have been seeing people posting items to the forums saying that their TriCaster 2.0 systems have Flash Media Encoder 2.5 loaded. We have the latest update to our TriCaster Studio that was posted in the download section dated 9/2008. When we checked the Flash Media Encoder on our TriCaster Studio it says 2.0. Did we miss an update somewhere?

Maybe Paul Lara might have the answer.

Paul Lara
03-02-2009, 12:52 PM
I have been seeing people posting items to the forums saying that their TriCaster 2.0 systems have Flash Media Encoder 2.5 loaded. We have the latest update to our TriCaster Studio that was posted in the download section dated 9/2008. When we checked the Flash Media Encoder on our TriCaster Studio it says 2.0. Did we miss an update somewhere?

In the interim, you could install FME 2.5 on your TriCaster.

rally1
03-03-2009, 07:32 PM
Have you tested 2.5? Because when I upgraded my FME it caused issues.

Neex99
03-03-2009, 07:55 PM
No I have not tried 2.5 on my TriCaster Studio. Everything I have read on the various boards here indicates that Newtek does not sanction loading software by the user and if you encounter problems your are on your own. Our TriCaster Studio is in main production most of the time, so to take the risk of making it unstable is not an option. I am a little surprised that Paul Lara would suggest that based upon what I've read. My staff and I are willing to wait for FME 3.0 to be included in the next TriCaster update whenever that may be.

pro---studio
03-04-2009, 01:42 AM
Hi,

I'm a little bit confused now. I got my band new Tricaster Broadcast yesterday from my dealer. On this machine FME 3.0 is installed. The dealer said, that I should do an update of the Tricaster Software when I start Tricaster first. I did that and after that I realised that there is FME 3.0 installed. Now I wonder if there was a newer version of Tricaster on my machine than the update on the download side!?

Paul - could you comment on this?

Where can I see the version of the Software? Could it be that I froced my new system to "downgrade" to an older version of tricaster?

Thank you for your answers

Pro

rally1
03-04-2009, 01:53 PM
Neex99, yes my question was aimed towards Paul, I was surprised he recommended it, and wonder if they actually tested it in house.

Paul Lara
03-05-2009, 03:01 PM
Neex99, yes my question was aimed towards Paul, I was surprised he recommended it, and wonder if they actually tested it in house.

Tech suuport has successfully tested this.
Manually upgrading your TriCaster to FME 2.5 works fine.
Do not, however, attempt a manual install of FME Live 3.0 on your TriCaster, as profile definitions were changed by Adobe after 2.5.

The very newest TriCasters are evidently shipping with Flash Encoder 3.0, and they're fine as they are - no need to update them.

rally1
03-05-2009, 03:51 PM
Ok then, let's get that update out for the rest of us then!
Something strangely sad about the fact that I can stream to Ustream from my $300 iPhone (http://www.digitalbuilt.com/?p=93), but not from my $10,000 Tricaster.

Neex99
03-05-2009, 06:46 PM
Paul,

Thanks for the clarification on the FME 2.5. If I roll my own FME 3.0 profiles and not use the ones that Newtek provides I should be able to load FME 3.0. Is that correct?

pro---studio
03-06-2009, 01:13 AM
Thank you Paul for the Infos.

The problem is that I did an update (with the online patch) allready because my dealer told me to do this after the first start of tricaster.

I realised that FME 3 is installed on the system unfortunately AFTER the update. My question is: Did I "downgrade" my tricaster with that "update"?

Thank you

rewire69
03-06-2009, 07:49 AM
So just out of curiosity is this new possible flash FME3 update your talking about Paul that were waiting for. Are we going to have to pay out the but for the up grade? Considering I thought that when I bought the 2.0 upgrade so I could stream in flash on the tricaster I wouldn't need to spend a ton more money.I got the upgrade for the flash streaming option and I am waiting for it to show up today.So Im sure others that just recently bought it feel the same way.

Neex99
03-06-2009, 09:01 AM
Paul Lara,

Before loading the FME 2.5 do I need to uninstall the FME 2.0 that is currently installed? I would think so, but just wanted to be sure before I proceed.

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 09:02 AM
Are we going to have to pay out the butt for the up grade?

No. This Update will not be very expensive.

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 09:04 AM
Before loading the FME 2.5 do I need to uninstall the FME 2.0 that is currently installed?

Just install it on top of Flash 2.0

pro---studio
03-06-2009, 09:41 AM
Paul,

could you please answer to my question?

Thank you.

Pro


Thank you Paul for the Infos.

The problem is that I did an update (with the online patch) allready because my dealer told me to do this after the first start of tricaster.

I realised that FME 3 is installed on the system unfortunately AFTER the update. My question is: Did I "downgrade" my tricaster with that "update"?

Thank you

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 09:45 AM
could you please answer my question?


Pro,
I don't know the answer, because I don't know what you installed on your brand new system. Go to Admin > Programs > and launch Flash Media Encoder to see what version appears. If 3.0, then I guess you're ok.

Paul

pro---studio
03-06-2009, 10:26 AM
I installed the update for 2.0 from your download page.

Does this update also install a new version of FME?

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 11:41 AM
If your new TriCaster had Flash 3.0, then installing that update downgraded your system. You can put it back the way it should be by re-booting and then in the BIOS screen, choose the option to Restore to Factory Defaults.

rally1
03-06-2009, 12:03 PM
Wait, now it's going to cost money?
It's gone from an update that was to happen over a month ago, to paying just to get back the functionality that has been lost. That doesn't sound like the usual Newtek way.
Manage expectations.

1-21-09
John,
If you can hold off a few days, there is an exciting development that will make connecting to Ustream so much easier.

pro---studio
03-06-2009, 12:23 PM
Thank you Paul for making things clear. That was what I wanted to know.

Pro.

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 01:27 PM
Wait, now it's going to cost money?


I didn't say that, did I?

rally1
03-06-2009, 02:25 PM
No. This Update will not be very expensive.

I take that to mean there is some cost to it?

Paul Lara
03-06-2009, 02:36 PM
Rally,
I don't know for sure if there will be a cost attached to this update or not, so I'm not in a position to declare this update will be free - it's not determined yet.

rewire69
03-10-2009, 12:07 PM
That would be really bad if we had to pay for a patch that should be free considering this sytem us based some what I guess on streaming.I and others would be mad I am sure as some of us are already loosing money not being able to stream in flash.Now how is it that if there is a recent up grade with 3.0 that I seen mentioned in one of the other posts in theis page.Why dont you just send us the upgrade version with the 3.0 or a page to download that from so we can do our jobs.To make a long story short if you are selling systems with 3.0 on them...give me that program!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DeanAU
03-10-2009, 08:30 PM
There is good news on the horizon regarding Flash Media Encoder, TriCaster and Ustream. You should be hearing something in just a few days, gang. ;)

It's nearly been 50 days since this post.

Just saying..

rewire69
03-10-2009, 09:38 PM
Well that figures we would be stuck waiting for ever and a day....lol

rewire69
03-10-2009, 09:43 PM
It shouldnt be hard to determin something that should be free to us people who bought the 2.0 upgrade and expected to be able to stream in flash.Being that the encoder is part of the system that lets us stream.When they made the upgrades and still do they should be giving it to us that bought the up grade.I got mine on March 6th.So I shouldnt be paying for squat for out dated software just to get it updated.

Paul Lara
03-12-2009, 10:27 AM
It shouldnt be hard to determin something that should be free to us people who bought the 2.0 upgrade and expected to be able to stream in flash.Being that the encoder is part of the system that lets us stream.When they made the upgrades and still do they should be giving it to us that bought the up grade.I got mine on March 6th.So I shouldnt be paying for squat for out dated software just to get it updated.

Thank you for that passionate reply.

I can now confirm that 2.5 will indeed be a free upgrade to Upgrade 2.0 operators. (If your TriCaster records live in MPEG-2, you're running Upgrade 2.0).

I can also assure you we are preparing to launch next week, so take some deep breaths, listen to some calming music and remember to smile.

Paul

rewire69
03-12-2009, 01:53 PM
Hey Paul thats good news I sort of guess.My issue is will the 2.5 update be able to be used with the up grade that uses 3.0 on their server.So I pray to god it does.Otherwise Im checking into the hospital.Please dont get up set thinking im attacking you personally.I am just stressed because like some of the others.I have clients that are demanding flash streams.So when I say I can do flash but I cant. they drop me like hot cakes and they go find someone else to do it and I have to return deposits etc. And me being allergic to giving away money doesnt work to well either.So I will take your advice try the soft music and deep breaths and go to that happy place!

Paul Lara
03-12-2009, 02:03 PM
When you come out of your happy place, you'll find happy customers as well, rewire.
Stay tuned. ;)

Neex99
03-12-2009, 08:42 PM
So Paul, now that you have announce that the 2.5 upgrade will be next week sometime can you give us a list of what's in it. FME 3.0? and what else???

GeekNews
03-12-2009, 10:33 PM
I am really disappointed that some sort of intern fix could not have been put out. We have been over a month without native streaming from the box without having to do a bunch of hardware workarounds.

Paul Lara
03-13-2009, 09:18 AM
The full announcement will be made next week.
I apologize for the delays, but we will be taking care of TriCaster owners in less than a week.

rewire69
03-16-2009, 09:26 AM
I can hardly wait to get the new fix to stream in flash 2.5 hopefully this week.I am excited to see how it looks as well as use it. I am seriously tired of limitations of windows media.I also got some shows coming up and I cant wait to get the player syndicated through some of our partners websites etc.So this is something I am looking forward to.

Neex99
03-16-2009, 09:11 PM
Next week is here

Quiet1onTheSet
03-17-2009, 06:35 AM
[Fade up to Paul:]

I can now confirm that 2.5 will indeed be a free upgrade to Upgrade 2.0 operators. (If your TriCaster records live in MPEG-2, you're running Upgrade 2.0). I'm peepin' that clarifying statement there, Paul. Thanks!

[Fade to black with calming elevator music...]

Koinonia
03-17-2009, 07:51 AM
If I understood correctly, the new Tricaster upgrade version 2.5 will bring Adobe Flash 3.0. I guess the 2.5 version that Paul mentioned is for the Tricaster upgrade and not for the adobe flash encode version... Is it correct?

rewire69
03-17-2009, 08:43 AM
Hey thats a good question Koinonia I would like to sort of know the same thing.I am just praying that its a flash upgrade and not a patch to be able to stream in 2.5 or something.My service is on 3.0 and they said I should be able to use 2.5 but 3.0 would be great so were at least up to date on things. I am going to quit bustin there chops about this till it comes out when ever this week....

Paul Lara
03-17-2009, 08:51 AM
I am going to quit bustin their chops about this 'till it comes out when ever this week....

Why, THANK you. ;)

Paul Lara
03-17-2009, 08:52 AM
If I understood correctly, the new Tricaster upgrade version 2.5 will bring Adobe Flash 3.0. I guess the 2.5 version that Paul mentioned is for the Tricaster upgrade and not for the adobe flash encode version... Is it correct?

If I understand your question, the TriCaster upgrade includes a new version of Flash.

Paul Lara
03-17-2009, 08:53 AM
Next week is here

Actually, this week is here. Next week is...um...next week. :)

rally1
03-18-2009, 12:19 PM
The update is now available under downloads, thanks NewTek.

Paul Lara
03-18-2009, 12:34 PM
The update is now available under downloads, thanks NewTek.

AND...TriCaster now has full support for Flash Live Media Encoder 3.

rally1
03-18-2009, 02:20 PM
As you can see FLME is an improvement with H.264. We now dont have to go through another encoder box.

Don't tell the NFL, but you can see it on our test player:
http://ne.edgecastcdn.net/00025B/LivePlayer/testplayer/LivePlayer.html

480x270 30fps 512K (sound off right now), even high motion video like this look acceptable.

cezaryg
03-18-2009, 05:47 PM
Thanks NewTek, but first of all - thanks to rally1 and to others who made this update happened!

ACross
03-18-2009, 08:52 PM
I have been itching to post this, but did not want to until we made the release; but who needs FME 2.5 when you can have 3,0 :thumbsup:

Koinonia
03-19-2009, 04:58 AM
Can you give us tutorial about how to make flash multistreaming with Tricaster?

Paul Lara
03-19-2009, 08:26 AM
Can you give us tutorial about how to make flash multistreaming with Tricaster?

Multiple bit-rate streaming is a server-side function of Streaming Server 3.5.

Koinonia
03-19-2009, 09:35 AM
Multiple bit-rate streaming is a server-side function of Streaming Server 3.5.

Paul,

What I got from SimpleCDN is:

"You may publish multiple streams to the server, always use the same FMS URL, just change the stream name."

How can I do this in the Tricaster? I have option for just one Stream type and one stream ID?!

Daniel

Paul Lara
03-19-2009, 09:43 AM
I believe that is something that would be set up using ActionScript 3.

NickHempsey
03-27-2009, 08:42 AM
can someone post a link to this update? I'm going crazy over here...

Thanks

Paul Lara
03-27-2009, 08:44 AM
Nick,
TriCaster 2.0 producers will see the Upgrade 2.5 link at http://register.newtek.com/
Log in and go to My Downloads.

NickHempsey
03-27-2009, 06:54 PM
I installed the 2.5 update, now i get an error message that says "Flash Media Encoder terminated prematurely, please try again." So now I've gone from having not enough options, to the options i need with a nonworking encoder. please help.

rally1
03-27-2009, 06:59 PM
We are getting that too, but only if I try to archive a copy of my H.264 flash stream. If I uncheck that option I can stream. I am guessing there is a bug as H.264 isn't saved as .flv (which the TC wants to call it), it should be .f4v.

Once I am done with current event I plan to pursue this with TC tech. support, they are quick at sorting things out.

Paul Lara
03-30-2009, 10:14 AM
We're looking into this - thanks for the feedback.

rewire69
03-31-2009, 10:45 AM
When I first installed the 2.5 upgrade I had all kinds of trouble to get it to work.I got the same error message as well when I first installed about the premature cut off on the encoder.I ended up calling in to Newtek, after awhile and the only weird thing that saved me was I had to flash my C:DRIVE, and then install the 2.5 up grade over along with the new patch they put out to get it to actually work.Not everyone will have to do this big of a step I am sure as it is my luck to have to do that much work to get it to work.But never the less it worked and now I am streaming in flash all the time.Now I am trying to find a player for the live stream to make viral so people can grab it and post it other places.I use the JW player but the embed code is messed up.I want to post it and have it work on my-space like the UStream player does.

Paul Lara
03-31-2009, 10:47 AM
rewire, check your e-mail.

rally1
06-04-2009, 10:42 AM
This is reportedly fixed by reinstalling the latest version of the 2.5 upgrade.