PDA

View Full Version : further frustration with my feathered friend



skate23
09-24-2008, 09:28 AM
dear anyone
apologies again for a newbie type question....
can i use images with an alpha channel for UV maps, thus enabling me to use the modeller FFX plugin to generate feather placement geometry?
i am endebted to earlier posts regarding feather generation as additional geometry, but am not liking the shape of the geometry itself....is it possible to use an image containing alpha channels so that the resulting geometry can be made to appear 'feather shaped' instead of the polygonal shape of the FFX generated polys?
i have tried to implement this via png, tga, psd type images but to no avail, and being mac based the current FFX alternatives in layout are not open to me...
am i missing something basic, or are alpha channels in a UV map just a no-no?
appreciate any suggestions...yours flappingly
the unhappy swallow modeller

skate23
09-24-2008, 05:57 PM
anyone out there?
spent all day wondering if its just me being stupid, and in fact I'm prety sure now ffx in layout as in al-alqa's first tutorial would definitely be a better solution for me,
but
people mention using the geometry generation option for stuff like feathers, leaves, etc, and thus i cant for the life of me see how that can be accomplished without an alpha channel, a cutout template...
come on, one of you guys will know this!:newhere:

Bliz
09-25-2008, 03:13 PM
I don't know but when I was skim reading the fiberfx manual today (for another issue) I saw that at the end of the manual it went into special fiberfx nodes that allow more complex control.
I didn't read them properly though...

WilliamVaughan
09-25-2008, 05:20 PM
....is it possible to use an image containing alpha channels so that the resulting geometry can be made to appear 'feather shaped' instead of the polygonal shape of the FFX generated polys?



Yes... I will make a video

geothefaust
09-25-2008, 05:48 PM
I'm sure Mr. Vaughn's video will cover it, but...

When you create geometry with FFX, it also automatically creates a UV map for all of the geometry. So you can then go in, and apply whatever you need, color channels, clip maps, etc..

But, I'm sure you'll get that video sooner, rather then later. ;)

WilliamVaughan
09-25-2008, 05:51 PM
Creating leaves on a branch using FiberFX Strand Modeler:
Right-Click Here to save (ftp://ftp.newtek.com/multimedia/movies/LW_9/Fiber_Leaves.mov)

skate23
09-26-2008, 07:12 AM
proton!
i feel honoured you've answered this query...
will, watch, digest, and keep on learning up this endless curve
thanx again, this community is amazing.
john:hey:

skate23
09-26-2008, 08:22 AM
also thanx to bliz n geothefaust for the replies and support...bliz, i'm also in old new troy....aka londinium....da smoke....
is there a london lightwave community?
we seem thin on the ground...:beerchug:
I did a days training at escape studios a while back n got looks akin to saying i was a paediatrician (in Portsmouth) when i said i was a 'waver'- seems Maya or death over there...
be cool to be able to swap stuff n technique etc with locals:jam:

jaxtone
09-27-2008, 03:11 AM
Maya? What´s that?

Bliz
09-27-2008, 05:15 AM
also thanx to bliz n geothefaust for the replies and support...bliz, i'm also in old new troy....aka londinium....da smoke....
is there a london lightwave community?
we seem thin on the ground...:beerchug:

Forum stalwart 'Starbase1' has a thread in the LW usergroups section

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=62393&referrerid=31053

...and he arranges meets every few weeks or so. From reading the thread they had one last night. I went to one of the first ones but haven't had the planets align since :p (must get my butt into gear)

dwburman
09-27-2008, 09:36 AM
Here's what you do to use an image's alpha channel as a transparency map.

1) open the image editor and select your image
2) On the right side of the panel is "clone" button. Click it and select "Instance"
3) Select the new copy of your image in the image list "imagename.png(1)"
4) On the source tab, change the "Alpha Channel" to "Alpha Only" (the default setting is "Enabled")
You now have an instance of your image that is only the transparency values. Use this either in the Transparency channel of your surface or as a clip map in the object properties.

skate23
09-30-2008, 10:11 AM
thanks to all replies...totally answered all questions from all angles...
bliz will check the thread
ta m8:thumbsup: