PDA

View Full Version : Quad Core PSU. . .How much power?



jasonwestmas
09-21-2008, 07:09 PM
Sorry about all the tech questions but I really couldn't find a straight answer anywhere and I'm not much of an electrician. :)

Is this 500 Watt Power Supply enough to power this Quad Core Computer Hardware?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194003

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130158

RedBull
09-21-2008, 07:44 PM
Sorry about all the tech questions but I really couldn't find a straight answer anywhere and I'm not much of an electrician. :)

Is this 500 Watt Power Supply enough to power this Quad Core Computer Hardware?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194003

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130158

I personally prefer my Corsair HX620, but it's just my personal preference.

I'm not sure if this Enermax is a Single Rail or Triple Rail P/S?, but it will have more than enough power for your system, although be warned it's usually the Videocards that are the powermongers. 1 or 2 GTX280's or 3x 4870 would likely be a stress for 500w, regardless of the CPU/Mainboard.

If you plan on going nuts on SLI than you may wish to get a slightly beefier one to be safe, but personally i wouldn't be worried.

jasonwestmas
09-21-2008, 08:16 PM
Great thanks! No I don't plan on using the SLI too much, I might not even get this specific board. I just have this little card here that I plan to use with Lightwave and get some rendering done:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150227

From what I understand is that it sips watts instead of gulps them.

I appreciate the help!

Hopper
09-21-2008, 09:07 PM
RedBull's right. You can get get biggest baddest CPU on the planet (or 2 for that matter) and just about any PS these days will run it without even breaking a sweat. It's the GPU's/shaders on the video cards that will suck the life out of your PS. Tagan sells some good quality stuff. After testing about 15 different ones, we found they are the only ones that are actually rated correctly for peak and switched power. Don't be fooled by a cheaper PS that promises big power. I'd say the "you get what you pay for" rule applies at about a 90% rate here. Better PS's use better quality components and will usually last longer than the rest of your system.

So far, the max draw on my system (6 10k Raptor HD's, a Q6600 CPU, ThermalTake 780e liquid cooler, and a 9800GX2 has been just over 675 watts while everything was pegged (even video and max fans all around) - which is hardly ever typical. Idle and just bouncing around the system, it's less than 300.

sbrandt
09-21-2008, 09:33 PM
33% of the user rating on that MSI are at average or below.

I think I'd look for another board with better experiences from
the previous buyers.

...an ASUS perchance.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131284

jasonwestmas
09-21-2008, 10:22 PM
I think this will work:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186116

I'm not sure what this means exactly

[2 x PCIe x16(run x16 + x4 mode, support dual graphics card technology)]

Will it work with a PCI Express x16 Interface Video card? I already own this card and want to use it.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150227

Hopper
09-21-2008, 11:16 PM
I support ASUS and nVidia mobos. Both are rock solid and versatile. The only bad thing I can say about nVidia is that there hardware comes out before their "good" drivers. It can be a royal pain sometimes.

Lightwolf
09-22-2008, 02:41 AM
I'm not sure what this means exactly

[2 x PCIe x16(run x16 + x4 mode, support dual graphics card technology)]

Will it work with a PCI Express x16 Interface Video card? I already own this card and want to use it.

It will.
Basically, the board has two (physical) PCIe x16 slots, so both can house a graphics card. However, in the second slot the video card will only get a quarter of the bandwidth to the chipset (thus the x4). The second slot only supports 4 active PCIe lanes.

Cheers,
Mike

sbrandt
09-22-2008, 06:14 AM
"...I think this will work..."

Foxconn P9657AB-8EKRS2H LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
Deactivated Item

Could be, but they don't sell it anymore.

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 08:12 AM
"...I think this will work..."

Foxconn P9657AB-8EKRS2H LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
Deactivated Item

Could be, but they don't sell it anymore.

Whoops, yeah I didn't see that. I like the board you showed me but $288 is a bit steep for me.

What about this one? Alot of people complaining about the ease of setup but other than that. . .

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131232

Lightwolf
09-22-2008, 08:18 AM
What about this one? Alot of people complaining about the ease of setup but other than that. . .[/url]
I'd rather get this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131296
Unless you want to go SLI I'd recommend a P35/45 board. P45 based ones have the advantage of allowing up to 16BG of RAM, just in case (even though the RAM modules to expand that much are still quite costly for the moment).

Cheers,
Mike

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 08:28 AM
I really like that board too Lightwolf. Only it doesn't support DDR2 800 does it? I wanted to use my old Gskill ram. Wait, isn't Ram supposed to be backwards compatible with the speed?

mav3rick
09-22-2008, 08:30 AM
500 is fine but go for more please if u plan OC it and use some of latest GFX cards
700 is about good for all

Lightwolf
09-22-2008, 08:30 AM
I really like that board too Lightwolf. Only it doesn't support DDR2 800 does it? I wanted to use my old Gskill ram. Wait, isn't Ram supposed to be backwards compatible with the speed?
It does:
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?modelmenu=1&model=2267&l1=3&l2=11&l3=709&l4=0

The motherboard supports DDR2 memory that features data transfer rates of 1200/1066/800/667 MHz...

Cheers,
Mike

mav3rick
09-22-2008, 08:37 AM
Yes btw i run quad on asus mobo ... good for oc

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 08:44 AM
My motherboard might have just died :( The PC isn't doesn't POST anymore, so I'm going to diagnose it further tonight. Everything inside the case fires up when I turn the power on, but the machine doesn't POST and there's no video at all and no error beeps. Black screen of nothingness.

I'm looking at this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131297 if it turns out that the motherboard is defective.

That's really frustrating. I just broke my Mobo by accident so I guess I kind ofknow how you feel. Luckily I didn't like my Mobo too much so I won't miss it.

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 09:00 AM
Hey Lightwolf, do you suspect that this Asus P5Q-E board would work well with Vista64? I don't see anything in that reguard. It's just that I already own a copy of Vista.

MiniFireDragon
09-22-2008, 09:05 AM
I just assembled a system:

MSI mobo K9N2A
9600+ Quad Core
MSI 9600 OC Video
4gb Corsair Dominator
Used old SATA HDs
And 2 DVD roms
Used 320 Watt powersupply

I also bought a APC that gives Wattage Output

It draws 200 Watts of power when running (in game and out). If that give us a power answer.

One thing to note about the New Nvidia 7xx series is they have been having problems with system stability across the board (all vendors). The newer revisions are suppose to have eliviated this problem.

I got stuck with one the 1st models and it didn't last long. I don't know how many people have taken a close look at the newer motherboards coming out with Nvidia chipset and what they are doing.

From now on, all Nvidia motherboards will be shipped with an onboard graphics port. If you are running Windows Vista you can take advantage of this function.

Why? Because when you hook into the VGA port of the motherboard, and have Multiple Video Card (SLI Hybrid ready) the system, when needed will activate the additional GPUs.

So if you have a Dual SLI setup, you will be using 3 GPUs. Is you have the newer Triple SLI, that gives you a grand total of 4GPUs.

Hopefully down the road these 3d Graphics packages will also start utilizing the System GPUs to give added rendering ability! Then we can reall scream along.

Anyway, don't know if what I posted helps. Just was pointing out things that can be overlooked.

Lightwolf
09-22-2008, 09:12 AM
Hey Lightwolf, do you suspect that this Asus P5Q-E board would work well with Vista64? I don't see anything in that reguard. It's just that I already own a copy of Vista.
I don't see why not. I'm running a P35 based Asus board with Vista 64... no problems.

Cheers,
Mike

Ember
09-22-2008, 09:21 AM
I think you might be interested in this article:

http://www.anandtech.com/casecoolingpsus/showdoc.aspx?i=3413

Cheers

mattclary
09-22-2008, 09:42 AM
Sorry about all the tech questions but I really couldn't find a straight answer anywhere and I'm not much of an electrician. :)

Is this 500 Watt Power Supply enough to power this Quad Core Computer Hardware?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194003

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130158

Seasonic power supplies are among the best. For motherboards I would stick with Intel, Asus, and Gigabyte.

Before you buy, find a model you want then go look for drivers for your OS of choice. Better than thinking you are making a great decision only to find out drivers are hard to come by.

mattclary
09-22-2008, 09:45 AM
I think you might be interested in this article:

http://www.anandtech.com/casecoolingpsus/showdoc.aspx?i=3413

Cheers

+++

Huge power supplies are for suckers.

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 11:52 AM
That's a good point MattClary, I did double check to make sure the drivers were all there. Seems to be Vista 64 supported with the Drivers and all.

http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

Hopper
09-22-2008, 02:01 PM
+++

Huge power supplies are for suckers.
Not to be argumentative, but I'd like to know where they get their numbers. Our lab has completely different numbers. A 9800GX2 at full load pulls 278 watts consistently while using just 3DMark. The nVidia 790i motherboards pulls 95 watts under full load. I don't think they take combinations underconsideration. A motherboard will have a different load depending on peripherals such as graphics cards. The SPP alone pulls a considerable amount of power while the graphics subsystem is under full load.

Like anything, I'd take anyone's numbers with a grain of salt.

jasonwestmas
09-22-2008, 03:42 PM
I hope it works out well for you Jason. I've gotten a bit further with my own PC issues.

Through a bit of fiddling and testing with an fresh ASUS P5B motherboard we're pretty sure it's the CPU which is fried. The P5B board displays the exact same behavior with the complete lack of POST and video, running with the same CPU.

Luckily the friendly Bitboy (as he is known as in these parts) had the spare motherboard we could test with. I have zero socket 775/Core2 parts except for what's in my PC. And he is like a machine when swapping out boards, a true maestro of the art of assembly/disassembly :)

Since a working CPU needs to be present for the system to POST it now seems like the only cause as a fresh motherboard with the same CPU fails to POST as well.

The E6600 CPU probably caved in from the 25% overclock it's been running for the past 14 months. I thought I got away with running a pure FSB overclock with no additional voltage, but apparently that was a bad idea over time. Ah well, live and learn. :)

Now to decide on what to get as replacement. If the quad-core CPU I want works with the P5WDG2 WS board I have I'll probably stick with that motherboard as it's been very solid and Vista friendly. But getting a P5Q series board is also quite tempting.


Wow, fried the CPU, that's some hard core rendering with 25% overclocking. I had no idea someone could over work the CPU like that, well I guess you shouldn't, hehe. Have fun with your new setup!

Yeah, I'm liking that P5Q-E Board, I think I'll order that tonight.