PDA

View Full Version : A question for former Carrara Users

Drakonsden
09-17-2008, 08:54 PM
I am new to the 3D world. My background is in CAD including 3D drawings. I am very interested in animation and as such I purchased Carrara 6.2 from Daz. I am now so frustrated and p*ss*d off that I am about to just give up on animation all together. Carrara has so many bugs that keep me from getting anything done. From complete lock ups to functions that just never finish. There are even features that are toted as being the next best thing that don't even work. Some functions only work for still shots.

I am looking to hear from former Carrara users that now use Lightwave and how they like it in comparison. I don't want to shell out another chunk of money just to be frustrated and get nothing of real merit done.:help:

safetyman
09-18-2008, 06:03 AM
Believe me -- Carrara can't hold Lightwave's jockstrap. I've used Carrara and while it's a nice program, it's in the minor leagues (along with Strata, Rhino, C4D, etc.) LW is used in production houses and major fx houses all around the world. Once you see how fast it is and how easy it is to learn, you won't be disappointed. Just watch the Discovery Channel show Dogfights (more info: http://www.newtek.com/lightwave/profile_detail.php?recordID=62) and you'll see how unbelieveable it can be in the right hands.

safetyman
09-19-2008, 05:41 AM
Sorry if I offended -- I simply meant that those "other" 3D programs weren't used as extensively as say, Maya, XSI, 3DS Max, and Lightwave, at least as far as in animation (which is what the original question concerned). C4D is a very nice program and doesn't get the press it deserves, but you must admit -- it's not as pervasive as LW and is certainly not known for its animation capabilities. Didn't mean to throw anyone off.

Otterman
09-19-2008, 05:53 AM