PDA

View Full Version : Using transparency map in a conductor material node?



inakito
09-11-2008, 05:01 AM
I am trying to do some perforated aluminium using conductor but the tranparency chanel is being ignored. Is there any way of doing it or should i just use as a clip map on the object layer?

Thanks!

PhantomPhish
09-11-2008, 05:12 AM
Use Material Mixer, feed the Conductor node into one input and a Delta material set to 100% transparent into the other. Control the Alpha input with your transparency map.

Captain Obvious
09-11-2008, 05:18 AM
Since metal is never ever transparent, the Conductor material doesn't simulate transparency. Use a Standard material with everything at zero except the transparency, and plug that and your Conductor into a Material Switch node. Then use your transparency mask to switch between transparent Standard and opaque Conductor.

Hello Inaki, btw. ;)


edit: Material switch renders more quickly, but behaves more like a clip map (no softness).

inakito
09-15-2008, 09:38 AM
I used the material mixer as it was easier to make it work... could not make work the material switch... may be too much Simon?

;)

Thanks anyway!!!

bta1701
09-17-2008, 07:31 PM
Since metal is never ever transparent, ...


What about transparent aluminum, huh? It may still be a number of years too early, but... ;)


http://www.rense.com/general20/transparentalum.htm
http://www.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123012131

bart

jaxtone
09-18-2008, 12:11 AM
BTA1701!

Thanks for the info... good to know when building airplanes :)

inakito
09-18-2008, 01:45 AM
the discussion is served...

:)

Captain Obvious
09-18-2008, 09:26 AM
What about transparent aluminum, huh? It may still be a number of years too early, but... ;)


http://www.rense.com/general20/transparentalum.htm
http://www.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123012131

bart
Neat. But how the hell does that work, exactly?