PDA

View Full Version : Pixar supposedly switching to OSX



harlan
08-01-2003, 02:00 AM
Not only do they have job openings for OSX specialists, but they apparently announced in a meeting at SIGGRAPH that they're going OSX on workstations - and the OSX Renderman beta ships soon.

Pretty exciting, but I'm sure there'll be a lot of dumbass "mac-bashers" claiming they're only doing it because of Steve Jobs - blahbity blah.

None the less, our Mac futures are looking pretty good with the G5 & Panther and LW8 right around the corner. Should be fun.

here's a link to some info, take it for what it's worth as it's on a rumor site, but I've also discussed this at length with a few PIXAR dudes, and it seems accurate.

www.macrumors.com

enjoy

harlan

luka
08-01-2003, 02:20 AM
PIXAR is my favourite studio. That is exellent news.:D

js33
08-01-2003, 02:31 AM
Well I'm sure Steve had a little bit to do with the transition if it is true. ;)
So maybe Pixar can give us some real benchmarks. :D

Cheers,
JS

Ade
08-01-2003, 05:13 AM
They should release a Top of the line PRO tower called G5 Pixar workstation or name it after one of their characters.

nawDsign
08-01-2003, 08:23 AM
If you guys really want renderman to come over to the mac... go to this site and let them know. The more people the better.

https://renderman.pixar.com/products/news/power_mac_G5.html

Thanks.

harlan
08-01-2003, 10:45 AM
Here's another interesting little link, check out the authors of this book! ;)

http://conferences.oreillynet.com/cs/macosx2003/view/e_sess/4478

harlan
08-01-2003, 10:47 AM
Whoops...I meant: check out the "speakers" at this "conference". Sorry for the screw-up; damn multi-tasking brain and what not.

Karl Hansson
08-01-2003, 11:59 AM
If I remember correctly when renderman first came out it was on the mac so this would complete the circle.:)

tallscot
08-01-2003, 12:53 PM
Well, MacRenderman was on the Mac. I used it with VIDI Professional back in 1994. That and Showplace.

mlinde
08-01-2003, 01:24 PM
I had a copy of Renderman on the Mac with Macromedia Model in 1994 as well.

Karl Hansson
08-01-2003, 02:35 PM
While were talking history anyone remember the mac 3D application Alias Sketch!? As I understand it Alias/Wavefront (or Alias as it is named again) Maya has its roots in Alias Sketch! Professional 3D ain't a new thing to the mac.

ackees
08-01-2003, 04:41 PM
Whatever happened to Swivel 3D? Now thats a classic.

Johnny
08-01-2003, 04:50 PM
Originally posted by Ade
They should release a Top of the line PRO tower called G5 Pixar workstation or name it after one of their characters.


Like the 'Woody?'


j

denny
08-03-2003, 10:23 AM
So does this mean Maya Unlimited is coming out on the Mac OS X platform. I would think if Pixar was switching to OS X, then they would wanted the Unlimited and best versions of software.

What is their choice of software in house anyhow?

Ade
08-03-2003, 10:28 AM
QUESTION IS -
Will Lightwave support it?
What 3d apps support it?

DaveW
08-03-2003, 12:13 PM
Originally posted by denny
So does this mean Maya Unlimited is coming out on the Mac OS X platform. I would think if Pixar was switching to OS X, then they would wanted the Unlimited and best versions of software.

What is their choice of software in house anyhow?

Pixar uses proprietary software, so Maya is pretty much irrelevant to them. There's probably some people there who use it for modeling, but you don't need unlimited for that.

Ade
08-03-2003, 08:00 PM
Yeah true I read that when they make a character model, its actually out of clay and 3d scanned in.

Jimzip
08-04-2003, 08:28 AM
Yeah, how cool is that?
Although, really, why bother becoming an animator. They hire on very specific qualifications and abilities, yet their very own movie characters aren't even modeled in 3d..
I get upset when I see stuff like Square making films using motion capture. Although yes, it's wonderful technology and it saves time. There's no point in studying motion, drama or the physics and dynamics of character animation.. It's not really animating at all, they might as well use blue screens and actors.. :(

Jimzip :D

fxgeek
08-04-2003, 09:25 AM
There used to be a few LW to Renderman plugins for LW on the PC, I haven't looked in a while, but I can't imagine that it would be a big deal for someone to port one.

As for other 3d apps, most high end 3d apps support renderman (softimage, houdini, maya etc) although Maya is most closely linked with Pixar's own MOTR (Maya to Renderman)

Renderman is not for the faint hearted. It is very powerful, but most of that power comes from it's programability, so don't expect a nice surface editor like you do in LW.

BTE, Pixar do use Maya for Modeling, but they use their own in house software for Animation

DaveW
08-04-2003, 04:27 PM
They make the models in clay, but the models they use in the movie are not the scanned models, those are only used as a reference. The final model is built using subdivision surfaces.

Mocap is good for some things, bad for others. And mocap still requires knowledge of motion and good animation techniques, as it needs to be cleaned up and enchanced for the final product. It makes sense to use it for something like Final Fantasy (although it would've made more sense for that movie to be live action) but mocap is no good for something like Toy Story or Finding Nemo.

Kuzey
08-04-2003, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by fxgeek

BTE, Pixar do use Maya for Modeling, but they use their own in house software for Animation

I thought Lightwave was used to model the toy story characters.

Kuzey

drclare
08-04-2003, 06:51 PM
I thought that too. On the lightwave credits list toy story and monster's inc. are listed saying that lightwave was used for modelling.

DaveW
08-04-2003, 09:43 PM
They use lots of modeling programs, whatever the modeler prefers.

Jimzip
08-06-2003, 04:26 AM
And Square used Lightwave to model the characters for Final Fantasy...

Jimzip :D

Zarathustra
08-08-2003, 03:02 PM
Let's see, I think it was 1992. I bought PS 3 and I believe it came with Alias Sketch. I know it came free with something. That was my first graphics purchase to accompany my hot, new Quadra 660av.
Woo!

Sketch confused the crap out of me, but I did manage a decent model of a tube of paint. The folded over part at the end of the tube was SOO hard.

Yeah, bring 'em all back to the Mac!