PDA

View Full Version : Broken Bend Tool - Help.

Xennon
09-08-2008, 10:35 AM
I am trying to follow William Vaughan's video tutorial on creating a thread and all was going well until he uses the bend tool - he said to hold down control and left-click and drag. The tool message at the bottom of the screen also says that CTRL contrains the tool BUT - on my machine (and this only seems to happen with the bend tool) the tool IS NOT constrained. I even tried clicking the middle mouse button instead of control key and the movement is completely un-constrained.

Am i doing something wrong here or is this a bug in 9.5? I am a total noob in LW so I'm guessing I'm doing something wrong.

As a test I tried several other tools to see if maybe my mouse was messed up but all other tools work fine but the bend tool will not behave.

Anyone else had this issue?

Bliz
09-08-2008, 10:37 AM
Sorry, I used it this morning in 9.5.1 build 1456 and it constrained fine.
<shrug>

cagey5
09-08-2008, 10:56 AM
I think there's some confusion as to what the constrain does. It will limit the bend to stepped increments, it won't stop you slewing the bend from side to side.. handy though that would be. I really should make a feature request for that.

Ztreem
09-08-2008, 11:05 AM
Never worked for me as well and I've used LW or a long time. I always have to use the numeric window to make a bend in a constrained manner. I always thought the bend tool didn't support ctrl constrain, I wonder what's wrong? all the other tools works just fine.

Ztreem
09-08-2008, 11:06 AM
I think there's some confusion as to what the constrain does. It will limit the bend to stepped increments, it won't stop you slewing the bend from side to side.. handy though that would be. I really should make a feature request for that.

Ah OK, then it's nothing wrong then.

+1 for the feature request.

Xennon
09-08-2008, 11:10 AM