PDA

View Full Version : GPI Trigger Out -- Need help



Chris.
09-06-2008, 04:46 PM
I have a questions about GPI triggering. As I understand it the GPI/Tally connector on the VT4 is two way, meaning you can either send or receive a GPI trigger is this correct?

I have a second switcher with GPI trigger In via a stereo 1/8" jack (the Videonics MXProDV) that I would like to have triggered by the VT4 if possible.
Can this be done, if so what is the proper wiring connection on the 15pin VGA connector to the 1/8" stereo jack (tip and base)? Is it just pin 12 & 13 on the VGA directly wire to the tip & base respectively?

How does the VT4 send a trigger signal then? I thought it would be different pins for in and out.

jcupp
09-06-2008, 05:58 PM
AFAIK the connection on the SX-8(4) is GPI IN only

Chris.
09-06-2008, 07:37 PM
According to the feature list for the VT5 under the Live Switching heading it has "Dual GPI In / Out" on the SX-SDI BOB.

http://www.newtek.com/vt/features.php

My question is I suppose does the VT4 also support this and if so how can I implement it in our system?

Chris.
09-07-2008, 12:43 PM
Sorry I meant SX-8(4) not SX-SDI.

jcupp
09-07-2008, 06:26 PM
The GPIs are input only in spite of the marketing materials. I just stuck a meter on the GPI pins to verify.

Chris.
09-10-2008, 02:22 PM
I thought that it was input natively and output by some internal VT setting if desired.

PIZAZZ
09-10-2008, 03:53 PM
I believe there is a toasterscript switch you can flip whether the GPI is in or out.

Look in the config file for VT.

It has been a while and unfortunately quite busy around here or else I would look it up for you.

animlab
09-12-2008, 07:22 PM
According to ToasterScript document, there are only GetGPIState0() and GetGPIState1() commands and they are all inputs. Tech notes show that Tally 12/13 pins (GPI pins) are connected thru 200 ohms series resistance to Microchip PIC16F872 micro controller I/O pins. I guest NewTek only program the I/O pins as input. There is no clue about the GPI outpout.