PDA

View Full Version : Remote desktop and Lightwave



Boris Goreta
09-03-2008, 12:33 AM
I can't get my dongle to work when using remote desktop from my laptop to desktop computer. It doesn't matter if I put the dongle in either of them, it doesn't recognize the dongle.

BeeVee
09-03-2008, 06:22 AM
It doesn't. This is by Safenet design as far as I know.

B

archijam
09-03-2008, 07:29 AM
I wonder if you can get standard VNC to work ...

For a renderfarm, this is kinda crucial :/

(At least for the way I work..)

RollerJesus
09-03-2008, 07:36 AM
I wonder if you can get standard VNC to work ...

For a renderfarm, this is kinda crucial :/

(At least for the way I work..)

You don't need a dongle to run LWSN though.

CC Rider
09-03-2008, 09:27 AM
The only way I have been able to make it work is to leave lightwave open on the remote computer. When you log on remotely it will work. If you close the application (LW) from the remote computer your session is finished. Remote Desktop apparently isn't "USB aware"...

Works well enough if you just want to check on render progress remotely, but that's about all it is good for.
I don't believe OGL comes through either so you wouldn't be able to see anything in the viewport anyway.