PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave & DXF+4 deal

big back comics
07-31-2003, 08:52 AM
Hello everyone:

I am pondering the upgrade special which I know is an unbelievable deal, but as a newbie to compositing I have a few questions I hope the community can answer.

1) Reading the specs, DFX is an 8 bit color app. How does that impact video? I am a new media developer and 8 bit to 24 bit colour when relating to web imagery (photos vs. logos) in terms of quality impacts images greatly. If I were to save a photo image in the .gif format (8 bit color) I would see a difference in quality. (as oposed to a .jpg image which handles 24 bit color).
In theory the same would hold true for video?

2) It seems to me, that digial fusion is a tad bit pricy for the independant producer/hobisit (deal not withstanding). The full version that supports higher colour specs runs $4000. Even the 8 bit version runs $1600 with all the modules in place. Comparitivtly After Effects and Combustion run $995 to $2000 with full support for higher grade colour support.

Please keep in mind I a not trying to start a flame war. I am just trying to understand the difference in quality between 8 bit video and higher. And if it is worth investigating other compositing apps that support higher colour.

I downloaded and checked out Lee's DFX videos and I love the nodal approach over the timeline-based approach so I know DFX's workflow and I would get alone great.

Anyway thanks in advance for your help.

TyVole
07-31-2003, 09:04 AM
It's not 8-bit color, but 8-bit per channel color (8 bits for each of the RGBA channels) for a total of 32-bits. Higher bit-per-channel resolution is for HDR images and film.

In terms of composition apps, I'm a newbie as well. From what I read, DF is much better than AE for 3d compositing (as opposed to compositing live action with 3d), and that Combustion is very slow.