PDA

View Full Version : I can't bend my text!

tomtank
07-31-2003, 08:47 AM
Hi

Can anybody help? I'm new to Lightwave and am having a bit of difficulty. I need to wrap some extruded text for a store directory around a circular column but can't seem to find a way of doing it - am I missing something really obvious?

Thanks

Tom

BeeVee
07-31-2003, 09:57 AM
Possibly. :) Bending objects in LightWave is very simple, however, getting it right with an extruded object isn't so easy. Try bending the text first before you extrude it, then use smooth shift rather than extrude...

B

Dodgy
07-31-2003, 10:08 AM
How are you having difficulties???

tomtank
07-31-2003, 10:37 AM
Hi

My problem is that I can't seem to work out how to bend my text to fit a specified column size - I assume the bend tool is appropriate for this?

(My column is 420mm diameter and I want directory text to wrap on each 'side')

Thanks

tomtank

CoryC
07-31-2003, 10:42 AM
You could also try the Spline Guide tool. Build your text and extrude it, then use Spline Guide set to bend. You many need to break your sentence up into a few sections to get it bent 360 degrees.

Use a circle to the size you want in the background to align to. If you get too much distortion on the ends try more points in the curve or smaller blocks of text.

Dodgy
07-31-2003, 12:04 PM
Ensure your text is placed so that the back left corner of the text is touching the back centre point of the column. (assuming your text is facing z- and your column is upright) Then use the bend tool in the right viewport, starting at the z+side of the text (where it meets the column), dragging right, and the text should wrap around. It helps if your text is the right length to get an even coverage. Then you can rotate it around the centre of the column to position it.

Dodgy
07-31-2003, 12:07 PM
Here's where I mean:

prospector
07-31-2003, 04:28 PM
BeeVee..
that does work
BUT
a smooth shift leaves one side empty on the face