PDA

View Full Version : rotating and moving objects on a robot



lreyes
08-30-2008, 11:41 PM
What do I have to do in modeling to bring in objects in layout that can move independ from one another, i.e., like a gear used as an ear to rotate on a robots head, or a propeller rotating on top of the head. Do I have to do each item in layers in modeler and then bring them in all at once into layer?

SplineGod
08-31-2008, 01:31 AM
Put them into separate layers or load them in as separate objects.
Its possible to keep them as a single object but use bones and weight maps
to animate each part separately.

lreyes
09-01-2008, 01:09 PM
Thanks Kurv...will do

Tom Wood
09-01-2008, 02:21 PM
If it's just simple rotations, another way is to place each part you will want to move on a separate layer. Then move the pivot point for each object part/layer to the center of that part. Then animate each object part/layer in Layout.