PDA

View Full Version : animation: particles: geometry

voovoo
07-31-2003, 02:32 AM
hi there
im an LW newbie and ive got a problem. ive animated a fish which is swimming from the right to left. the tail is swinging and all the stuff...

now i need to create whole shoal. how to do it? ive read the tuts on this site but nothing worked ;\... what am i doing wrong!? please, help! got short deadline!!!

regards,
v.

voovoo
07-31-2003, 03:52 AM
well... ive figured it out... i just had to change my objects bones/goals hierarchy.

now i have another question. how to make the emmiter stop emmiting particles at i.e. 30 frame?

v.

voovoo
07-31-2003, 03:58 AM
muhahaha
i just figured it out too!!! :)))
LOL... sorry

v.

voovoo
07-31-2003, 04:27 AM
nope... i did not :(

when i choose fx linker to make copies of the animated fish to particle emmiter... it does it... BUT... the goal objects for all other fishes are taken from the first fish... guess what is happening? every tail is pointing to the same goal... ;\...

ive used ik rig on my fish...

please people...

;\ HELP!!!
v.

voovoo
07-31-2003, 06:22 AM
well... ive found the way to do it (thanks to Pazur for the tip)... ive done MD Scan over animated fish. than i threw out the bones and all the ik stuff. added deformation to the fish geometry with MD again... and... voila! the particles play nice now :)

LW is AWESOME!

regards,
v.

Dodgy
07-31-2003, 06:28 AM
That's probably the problem then. Use motion baker on your fish'es bones OR I would use MDscan (displacement plugin) to save out their displacements. You can then use MDplug with that swim.mdd on each fish and get rid of your bone/ik motions stuff completely. Then use FX linker on this displaced fish, and offset the start time in MDplug for each fish. Make sure Key move is on in MD plug too!)

Sounds a bit complex at the moment, but that should be sorted by 8 from the looks of things :)

voovoo
07-31-2003, 06:39 AM