PDA

View Full Version : New VT-5 Install-- no video



Lennie
08-20-2008, 05:51 PM
Yes Hello--

Just built a brand new box-- using a 5 year old Newtek card-- and a new copy of VT-5...and I must be missing something. I can not get any kind of video (or character generator) to show up in a VT monitor. I can play video in a DDR- I can move around the switcher- It seems like it has recognized the SX-8...

Any hints?

Sorry for the rookie question as I've used a VT-3 for the past 5 years but really never needed to troubleshoot much--

Lennie

kltv
08-20-2008, 06:35 PM
Since you can see the DDR, the card is probably working fine. As far as the CG test, make sure you have "Out to Switcher" checked on the CG and try it again. If you see it then you just probably just have an external I/O issue.

My classic goofs are:

1. Get the video cables backwards between the SX-8 and the Toaster Card.
2. Forget to plug in the extra power cable inside the computer to the Toaster Card which powers the SX-8.

If you launch the Virtual BOB does it say SX-8 not detected?

Kris

Lennie
08-21-2008, 09:29 AM
Yep-- I answered my own question---

I was convinced the issue was a setting in the the VT-5...and as I later guessed- it actually was missing software for the new video card- everything is now working (so far ;>)

Thanks
Lennie