PDA

View Full Version : Trying the new spherical lights...



starbase1
08-15-2008, 03:43 PM
Started mucking about with 9.5, first I knocked up a simple room, with an object to show the lighting, then stuck a spherical light in a corner, rendered at light quality 5...

Then I turned on final gather radiosity, dropped the strength of the light to compensate, and rendered again...

Nick

starbase1
08-15-2008, 04:33 PM
I'm attempting to use IES photometric lights, found a bunch to download, and have been trying many and tweaking the settings, but I'm not getting anything out...

Has anyone got any clues on the basis of getting them illuminating a scene?

The frustrating thing is that they are showing fine in the light properties panel, and in some cases even in open GL, but not in the end render... Is there something I need to turn on to activate them?

zapper1998
08-15-2008, 06:32 PM
Haven't really used em yet, tinkered like you, and still need to get in there and setup up some stuff,
the light would be good for a big building like a warehouse, and outside building lighting as far as I know, need to set some up.
Modeled a Warehouse, a big one 1000ft long by 300ft wide, just have not set the light up.
should try it out.

In the light properties panel do you have 2 dome lights in the drop down list ??

Michael

starbase1
08-16-2008, 01:23 AM
I got something out by cranking up the intensity beyond all reason, but there is still something odd. For example, setting a target does not point it the right way. I'm wondering if the IES definitions are open to multiple interpretation...

(And I was using a real world light type that was roughly appropriate).

I only have one dome type, which I am about to try.

Anyway results such as they are:

starbase1
08-16-2008, 01:40 AM
Default dome light, 5 pass non adaptive AA.

Then I increased the light intensity, and increased the light quality from 4 to 6.

Then added final gather radiosity.