PDA

View Full Version : transparent problem



d1wojo
08-08-2008, 11:13 AM
I have an image that I am working on in photoshop. I have areas that are transparent. What format do I need to bring it in to LW so that those areas show transparent. I will have the image textured onto a box.

toby
08-08-2008, 09:50 PM
What you need to bring into LW is a black & white image, white where you want the transparent areas and black for opaque. This can be copied from the alpha channel in photoshop and saved as an 8-bit image. Use this as a texture in the transparency channel of your objects' surface.

Or, if you load an image into LW with an alpha stored in it, you can duplicate the image and set that to 'alpha only', then use that in the transparency.

As far as format, LW likes png, and tga's best. Jpg's are the worst, and Tifs can have problems too. I don't use anything but png, tga files take up more space on the hard drive.

d1wojo
08-08-2008, 11:44 PM
Thanks for the help

toby
08-09-2008, 12:44 AM
No thanks necessary, just tell my uncle I said Hi :)
(he's a professor at Case)

Ztreem
08-09-2008, 04:29 AM
You can also save as a .psd and you don't have to do the alpha channel by hand, LW works fine with psd files.

toby
08-09-2008, 04:15 PM
I agree, very little trouble with .psd's, but you still have to do the second thing I mentioned, setting a copy to 'alpha only'.

Ztreem
08-10-2008, 02:57 AM
I agree, very little trouble with .psd's, but you still have to do the second thing I mentioned, setting a copy to 'alpha only'.

Yes, if you want the object to be transparent you must do that, but if you you only want the texture to be transparent you don't. :)

3DGFXStudios
08-10-2008, 03:05 AM
you can also use nodes. you'll need just an image with an alpha channel

Ztreem
08-10-2008, 03:18 AM
Yes, that also works fine.

toby
08-10-2008, 03:26 AM
Yes, if you want the object to be transparent you must do that,
That's what he asked for in his first post.

Ztreem
08-10-2008, 04:25 AM
You're right a read it again... so dublicate file with only alpha or use nodes.
edit: or make a special greyscale/blackandwhite image just for transparency