PDA

View Full Version : Alpha Weirdness



tonypete
08-06-2008, 08:54 AM
OK, this has been driving me crazy long enough. I am using an Alpha Channel to make the fronds on the palm trees but when I add volumetric fog to the scene I get the results in the attached image...

I have tried every surface adjustment I can think of, but the whole polygon still shows up in the fog, and not just the Alpha'd texture. This is driving me crazy.

Any suggestions?:help:

Nangleator
08-06-2008, 10:05 AM
Maybe use a clip map on the fronds instead of surface opacity.

Surrealist.
08-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Go to the Object Properties Render Tab for the trees and select Unaffected by Fog.

EDIT: But then of course... the trees won't be fogged.

tonypete
08-06-2008, 11:50 AM
Using Clip Maps works perfectly, but is taking too much time because of the nature of the model and the textures on it.

I ended up doing the fog the old fashioned way by loading up several semi-transparent layers and adjusting the opacity and texture on them. (see attachments). That is how we old timers used to have to do it back in the old days.

It is a quick and dirty fix, but will do for now.

Thanks for the tips.