PDA

View Full Version : Help: How to Render Shadows Over Alpha Channel



Pakorn1
08-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Hey guys, quick question,

I remember in school, when I used 3d Studio Max, I could put a Matte Shadow material on an otherwise transparent ground plane, and that would create shadows that would export with the object's alpha channel. This would allow easy compositing of 3d objects into a real-life background. My question is, is this possible in Lightwave? If so, what's the best method to go about doing it without having to "fake" it in post?

Thanks!

-Rob

G M D THREE
08-05-2008, 03:09 PM
surface editor/ advanced tab/ set alpha channel to: shadow density

///

Pakorn1
08-05-2008, 03:23 PM
Sweet I'll try it - thanks!

Pakorn1
08-05-2008, 03:30 PM
What does the shadow type need to be? Do I make the floor object transparent?

RebelHill
08-05-2008, 03:36 PM
shadow type can be anything... floor object should ideally be black, and ull get a plain black image with an alpha that defines the shadow.

toby
08-05-2008, 03:37 PM
Shadow type can be either raytraced or shadow mapped. Floor does not need to be transparent.